A Produce-ful Day and Silken Secrets

Hello everyone! Je suis retourneé from Europe! I had a great time and will post about it soon, but the important thing for now is that I’m home with a kitchen, 20+ vegan cookbooks, and two parents who are footin’ the grocery bill. In summary, let the games begin! I’ll be posting a lot more often now, obviously.

The first thing I did when I got home was make a trip to Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s as soon as I possibly could. I got a ton of produce (hence this post’s title), but a lot of fun stuff too, including buckwheat groats, kamut puffs, barley flour, vital wheat gluten, chocolate AND carob chips, frozen cherries and papaya, baby sweet potatoes, Annie’s Smoky Maple Barbecue Sauce, a GIANT bag of rolled oats (my dad kept saying, “Is this enough?” and I would respond, “Well, I’m just going to keep buying them continuously all summer,” so he said we might as well fill our plastic bag until it was the size of a bowling ball–okay, he didn’t say that, but that’s how big it was…), and silken tofu (the other focus of this post).

For breakfast I had a cinnamon-chocolate-cherry-banana smoothie. I think I could tweak it more, so I won’t give a recipe, but it basically consisted of frozen banana slices and frozen cherries, soy milk, some ice, cinnamon, dutch-processed cocoa powder, a pinch of salt, a little stevia for sweetness, and some dried cherries for texture.

I know It’s really weird, but I like to pour my smoothies into bowls and eat them with a spoon! It makes them last longer (I don’t like to just gulp them down), and, I donno, it’s just cuter! The ironic thing is that the spoon you see is a “smoothie spoon” that is really long so that you can use it in a tall smoothie glass. I’m just one big contradiction. I figure if I’m not eating the standard American diet that is in contradiction with the basic tenets of compassion, ethics, and health, I have to do something contradictory. ;)

For lunch I had a salad with bell peppers, sugar plum tomatoes, strawberries, cucumbers, baby spinach, and arugula with the “Honey” Mustard Dressing from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan. For the dressing, I omitted the oil, substituting half a block of silken tofu (Dreena suggests to use tofu and vegenaise, but I didn’t have any vegenaise that wasn’t past the expiration date). So that’s silken secret #1 I guess…

I wanted a light dinner (my appetite gets all wonky when I travel), so I made Asparagus and Cilantro Soup from The Real Food Daily Cookbook. This recipe was soup-er easy to make, and in addition to some other veggies, included TWO POUNDS of asparagus. Hollerrrrrr. I followed the recipe exactly, besides my final ingredient; because my soup didn’t seem quite thick enough, I pureed in the remaining half block of silken tofu that I had. Not only did this make the soup thicker, creamier, and richer in protein, but it tasted decidedly better. I should call RFD and tell them…or I could just keep it our little secret.

Please note the asparagus bowl.

Okay, well I’m gonna try to get some stuff done (like photo uploads–ugh). Good night! I’ll be back with more loverly food tomorrow!

7 responses to “A Produce-ful Day and Silken Secrets

  1. Nicole (anotheronebitesthecrust.wordpress.com)

    Your salad is so pretty! It looks perfect for summer.I love the baby sweet potatoes from Trader Joe's! I am a sucker for anything small and cute.

  2. Haha, I do love that your asparagus soup is in an asparagus bowl! That is certainly a pretty salad!

  3. Welcome back! I can't wait to hear all about your adventures in Europe. I love the colors of your salad and the idea of using silken tofu in the dressing (I have half a block of the stuff and no idea what to do with it).

  4. So many cute things in this post: the asparagus bowl, the smoothie spoon, the strawberries. Yum. Your chocolate cherry smoothie sounds like a great dessert, too!

  5. LOVE the asparagus bowl with the asparagus soup! and that salad is possibly the most beautiful salad ever!

  6. Glad your back home for the summer! And how awesome to have parents footing the bill. That makes me want to move back in with my parents. They probably wouldn't mind except I doubt they'd let my six cats stay with me. sigh…that salad photo is beautimous!

  7. Welcome back! Can't wait to hear all about your trip.Your salad looks pretty! It's so bright and colorful.

Leave a Reply

