Pesto Tofu Scramble, Tomato Rosemary Scones, and Lemon Pepper Roasted Potatoes

Y’all ready for Vegan Brunch Round 2?!

We had our good friends over for dinner last night, but instead of having the boring old “dinner party,” I wanted to have a brunch party! The cornbread waffles and mole from the day before were so good, I knew that no other book would cut it. And also, let’s all just be honest here. Brunch is one of life’s greatest pleasures, and therefore, we should basically have it every meal, every day. K, glad that’s settled.

I went for an Italian theme–I guess I’m pretending that I’m still in Italy (speaking of which, I WILL post those pictures this weekend. You guys have to hold me to it). I made the Pesto Scrambled Tofu with Grape Tomatoes, Tomato Rosemary Scones, and Roasted Potatoes with Lemon Pepper (but lemme tell you, every other variation was calling my name almost as loudly).

Obviously, brunch was a success! I’m telling you, if you make a meal with a lot of carbs and olive oil, they will come (like the Field of Dreams). Just kidding, it wasn’t that bad…I replaced a bit of the olive oil in the pesto with water (don’t worry, I would never do that to pesto if I weren’t mixing it into a tofu scramble…it just seemed excessive), and, like always, used white whole wheat flour and unrefined sugar in the scones!

Oh yeah, the scones. Highlight of the meal by far. Not only are they an absolutely charming shade of blushing orange flecked with vibrant green, but they’re deliciously light and flaky, even with the whole wheat flour. :)

The potatoes were crispy and caramelized, but perfectly creamy on the inside, with just the right amount of kick from the pepper. The scramble was a nice change from your everyday tofu scramble, but I think the classic Vegan with a Vengeance one is still my favorite (I think it’s the same one she has in Vegan Brunch, actually. No?). Still, the whole grape tomatoes, bright red and juicy, looked quite pretty amidst the fresh green hue of the pesto. Definitely a good-lookin’ dish.

But, the scones. Make the scones.

2 responses to “Pesto Tofu Scramble, Tomato Rosemary Scones, and Lemon Pepper Roasted Potatoes

  1. Sounds good! I haven't tried any of those ones from VB yet, but I definitely plan on making the scones. I think I am going to have brunch for dinner tonight too!

  2. I seriously need to get myself a copy of Vegan Brunch!

Leave a Reply

