Lazy Yet Gourmet

Today was one-a those days when you don’t really put that much effort or thought into your food, but the results are so tasty that you kinda feel like you cheated–like, at any moment, foodie justice is going to smite your plate of yummies onto the floor because you don’t really deserve it.

I woke up feeling less than great (I’ve been sorta sick off ‘n on since Santorini 2 weeks ago). In addition to a sore throat, I felt stuffy, overheated, and a bit nauseated. Luckily, I remembered that there was a recipe for “Stomach-Soothing Papaya Smoothie” nestled within the April issue of the Vegetarian Times. I changed the recipe up a little bit, replacing the strawberries with their raspy cousins, adding the almighty banana, and upping the ginger because, from my Dr. Weil experience, I know that ginger is a powerful natural remedy for colds, inflammation, and nausea. ;)

My version:
1 1/2 cups cubed frozen papaya
1 banana
1/2 cup frozen raspberries
1/2 cup So Delicious Vanilla Coconut Milk Beverage
1 Tbs fresh-squeezed lime juice
1 tsp agave nectar
1 tsp grated fresh ginger
a couple fresh basil leaves

So refreshing. It hit the spot and really made my throat and stomach feel better. Food as medicine. I’m telling you.

Lunch at work was leftover cornbread waffles and mole if you must know, but when I got home, I was craving sweet potatoes. Like whoa. Of course I coulda just thrown my sweet taters in the oven, but I felt like trying a unique spice combo, so I made the Oven-Baked “French Fried” Yams from The Vegan Table, which are coated in olive oil and seasoned with paprika, garlic and chili powder, dried parsley (I subbed cinnamon), salt, and pepper. I decided to try the “roast” setting on our oven insteada using the regular “bake” function because my mom said it worked well, but apparently it cooks stuff much faster because, after 25 (of the 45) minutes, I opened my oven to find almost burnt SP fries! Thank gosh I got there just in time! I guess it gave them a nice “just-off-the-grill” flavor? Eh, debatable.

Served with Annie’s Organic Ketchup and Annie’s Smokey Maple BBQ Sauce! Perfect.

6 responses to “Lazy Yet Gourmet

  1. Nicole (anotheronebitesthecrust.wordpress.com)

    These photos are lovely! They look quite tasty too. Mmmmmmm!

  2. nora!!! you make me so HUNGRY HUNGRY!with your deliciousness!

  3. Caio Fernandes

    hi ! i loved your blog. and i am going to try some recepies .

  4. dreaminitvegan

    Everyone is making meals from Vegan Brunch! I'm so jealous and I can't wait to go out and get me one!

  5. That smoothie sounds so refreshing! I'm always too chicken to mix fruit and herbs. What if it's gross, you know? But yours sounds beautiful.

Leave a Reply

