Nut Butters, Moroccan Tagine, and Oat Bars!

Hello joyful vegans! (and curious omnivores, vegetarians, flexitarians, etc.)

I got an exciting delivery a few days ago! Three Naturally Nutty Nut Butters! I’ve been super excited to try these ever since Shelby at La Belle Vegan has raved about their Vanilla Almond Butter, so I finally ordered their 3 jar sampler pack:

Gosh, I’m so glad I did! First of all, I really appreciate that each flavor contains flax and hemp seeds–it’s a great way to sneak in some healthy omega-3 fats and extra fiber into whatever nut buttery meal or snack you have! I thought the Cinnamon Cherry would be my favorite, but the cinnamon and cherry flavors aren’t quite as pronounced as I would have liked! Still it’s delicious, and I like how it only has 6g of sugar/serving. It reminds me of a less sweet version of PB & Co’s Cinnamon Raisin Swirl, though if I have to be honest, not quite as delicious. The Mocha Peanut Butter is good, but similarly not sweet at all, and the coffee flavor is VERY strong–it’s almost like fine coffee grinds mixed into peanut butter–so it’s not the best on its own, but I think it’d be delicious stirred into something, or spread on toast, waffles, muffins, or bagels. And yeah, the Vanilla Almond Butter is the star. Just the right amount of sweetness and kinda tastes like cake batter!

Overall, I really like these nut butters, but they’re just not quite as addictive as PB & Co’s Mighty Maple, Dark Chocolate Dreams, and Cinnamon Raisin Swirl. However, the fact that they have a lot less sugar is worth it if you’re in the mood for something slightly less decadent.

A couple days ago, I made the Moroccan Tagine with Spring Vegetables from Vegan with a Vengeance. What attracted me to this dish–and the reason I loved it–was that it contained so many flipping vegetables! (Isa does say in the intro that it’s a “veritable powerhouse of nutrition”) Seriously, onions, carrots, zucchini, grape tomatoes, green beans, and spinach, and herbs like cilantro and mint! Plus, who doesn’t love lentils. And raisins. Okay, I’ll stop.

Served over fluffy quinoa with a lemon wedge for squeezin’ of course.

Finally, Apple Rosemary Oat Bars from the May/June issue of the Vegetarian Times! I love exotic ingredient combinations, so I knew I’d be making these from the moment I saw them. They lived up to their name, and I loved the kick they received from the lemon zest and juice.

My only complaint was that there is NOT enough oat mixture to form two layers in an 8 1/2 X 11 pan, as the recipe claims. I used a smaller pan, and it was still a reach. Also, I added an extra half of apple grated because I thought the filling was too sweet. So do that, or just cut down on the agave! But seriously, a big winner!

Till next time…

8 responses to “Nut Butters, Moroccan Tagine, and Oat Bars!

  1. The Voracious Vegan

    AMAZING!!! Those nut butters look absolutely creamy dreamy, nice to see that they have some healthy benefits too! Oh that tagine…my stomach is growling right now!

  2. Wow. Everything looks yummy! I love nut butters.

  3. I've had VWAV since forever and have still not made that – what is my problem? Plus, I love tagine. And hey, I love nut butters, too!

  4. Apple and rosemary are an interesting combination. Sounds like it could be good. The tagine looks scrumptious!

  5. Cooking With Dia

    Mmm…wish we had those here in UK. Looks really good!

  6. cinnamon and cherry sounds amazing! i am always jealous when i see all these flavoured PBs you guys get over there. Stupid england!!

  7. mmm everything youve posted souds delish!and i hate when recipes dont make as much as they claim…or fit in the pans. :( such a bummer.

  8. Jen aka Jewbacca

    i wanna know how people get hooked up with samples. i don't have much money so i only get to buy one new thing a week for my product review. i think i'll ask my spouse to get me a nut butter sampler pack as a gift or something because i have YET to try anything by PB&Co. for shame!

Leave a Reply

