Carob Chip Cookie Dough Oat Bran

So I have to thank Ruby Red Vegan and Curly Top for my delicious breakfast this morning! Peanut Butter Carob Chip Cookie Dough Oat Bran! I know the name is the mouthful, but didn’t you know that complicated recipe titles make the food taste better? Well, you should.

I followed Ruby Red’s recipe for the most part, but I left out the date because I didn’t need the extra sweetness since I used VitaSoy Light Vanilla instead of unsweetened soy milk, and I used pecans instead of walnuts because I like them better (and I take an omega-3 supplement, so I don’t always have to be eating walnuts, flax, and hemp! Though I do love them all, don’t worry!).

Finally–and perhaps the most exciting alteration to the recipe that I made–I used Pbu instead of peanut butter. If you click the Curly Top link above, you’ll see that “Pbu” is the name of her “light peanut butter” she invented that only has 60ish calories per 2 Tbs serving instead of 190 (OMG, I KNOW!). All you have to do is mix 2 parts almond milk to 1 part PB, add a little salt (I think this is key so as to boost the peanutty flavor that is so often accompanied by saltiness), and some cinnamon if you wish (I think it adds a nice dimension, so I would go for it).

I know that sometimes–believe me, I LOVE peanut butter, I know–only real, unadulterated, full-fat, stick-to-the-roof-of-your-mouth PB will do, but when you just want to add a substantial kick of PB flavor to a breakfast, I think Pbu is a great way to go! I got to put double the amount of Pbu into my oat bran than Ruby Red did PB, for less than 1/3 of the calories! And, because there was more of it, its flavor was better able to permeate the whole bowl despite the fact that it was “diluted,” as it were. I think Pbu would be great in place of syrup on waffles/pancakes, as a topping for fruit salads, a filling for crepes, or as a fancy mix-in for soy yogurt bowls, oatmeal, and oat bran, as I used it here!

So what are you waiting for? Go make some! And experiment with different non-dairy milks and nut butters too!

7 responses to “Carob Chip Cookie Dough Oat Bran

  1. Oh my goodness, that sounds amazing! It's like dessert for breakfast, but still healthy!

  2. Ruby Red Vegan

    Oh, yay! I am so excited that you made the oat bran recipe and now I must try my morning oats with Pbu (or Abu) too! Isn't it so wonderful that we have the internet to constantly help us improve on each other's recipes, so we can make the world's best oat-y breakfast?! :)

  3. Pbu world domination! I still haven't tried Curly Top's recipe, but I plan to make some and eat with oats for breakfast next week. I've just gotta get my butt to the store for oats and PB first.I fixed the name of your blog on the link on my post. I forgot about the name change because, even though I see it when I look at your blog, it still shows up as My Cup of Tea on my blogroll. I should update that as well. Thanks for insisting that I make those scones…best scone I've ever had. Really.

  4. I made some Pbu with the SO delicious coconut milk the other day. Although, since I usually just eat my PB off the spoon, I oddly haven't really eaten much of it!

  5. that looks really good and thanks for the PBU tip. i've diluted PB in the past by mixing it with a mashed banana or applesauce before too.ps, so you FB? friend me. i'm jen fish molica.

  6. i just made the pbu yesterday…but didn't add any salt! i didn't even think of it, but that;s probably what's *missing* so i think i will go add it in next time i open it up!

  7. This post blows my mind. It's like you had dessert for breakfast, but it was good for you!

Leave a Reply

