Soup à la Pumpkin

A.k.a. Soup à la Lazy. :)

I was exhausted after work today, so I wasn’t up for any laborious dinner preparations. I had half a can of leftover pumpkin from the tofu scramble I made yesterday, so I decided to use that and make some soup. Luckily, I have a copy of Happy Herbivore’s e-Cookbook, Pudge-Free Holidays, in which there’s not only a pumpkin soup recipe, but a full list of variations of said recipe! I kind of made a cross between the Pumpkin Curry Soup and the Pumpkin Gingerbread Soup (I used curry, cinnamon, and cloves). I topped the bowl with some Trader Joe’s plantain chips–have you tried these things?!–and dried cranberries, for a truly festive meal that took less than 5 minutes to prepare.

I don’t have permission to publish the recipe, but it’s definitely something that anyone could make if they wanted to purge their fridge/pantry! All you have to do is heat some canned pumpkin, liquid (broth/non-dairy milk), maple syrup, salt, and spices of choice over medium heat until warmed through. Could gourmet be any easier?

P.S. I need to get a new backdrop, don’t I? ;)

8 responses to “Soup à la Pumpkin

  1. I love pumpkin and I always buy several butternut squashes at a time in case the shop doesn't have any next time I'm in!I must try this soup. It looks so good!

  2. i like taking canned pumpkin and putting it into my oatmeal for pumpkin pie oats. i believe i got the idea from bianca over at vegan crunk.

  3. Sophia.Pflieger

    I love pumpkin! Its so versatile, your soup looks fantastic. http://whatyourmommadidntknow.blogspot.com/

  4. Ooh, I should re-visit Pudge-Free Holidays. I tend to not look at holiday-themed cookbooks out of season, but there's some good stuff in there that doesn't have to be seasonal.

  5. sounds good, and i always have canned pumpkin!

  6. hey, the tofutti icing is just some cream cheese and earth balance mixed with powdered sugar and a little bit of soymilk! its super tasty!

  7. Man, this soup sounds perfect for all of the nasty, rainy weather we've been getting lately. So simple, too!

  8. Oh yum! I have that cookbook but haven't made that soup. I'll have to try it out.

Leave a Reply

