Mexican Tofu Omelet!

I finally got around to making Vegan Brunch‘s Tofu Omelet this morning! It’s funny because Bianca just posted about how I encouraged her to make the Tomato-Rosemary Scones, and I knew I had to make Tofu Omelets ASAP after seeing her post on them. She went a more traditional route with a spinach, mushroom, and mozzarella Teese filling, but I decided to flaunt my Southwestern AZ pride by filling mine with the Rancheros Sauce and Beans (from the Polenta Rancheros recipe), and topping them with Fried Plantains and Trader Joe’s Spicy, Smoky Peach Salsa.

The Rancheros Beans recipe is very forgiving (as I’ve found most of Isa’s recipes to be–it’s definitely the mark of a good cookbook!). Instead of 2 cans of black beans, I used 1 can of pinto beans and one can of vegetarian refried beans. Plus, I subbed a half can of fire-roasted tomatoes combined with a whole pureed tomato and some garlic chipotle salsa in order to “make” a 15 oz can of tomato, sauce. Haha, so ghetto.

And, I’m not gonna lie, I was definitely worried that the omelets wouldn’t stay together. The directions are so detailed, and there seems like so many places you can go wrong (and I used Mori-Nu silken tofu when she explicitly tells you not to do so). But, miraculously, they somehow came out perfectly. I ended up with fluffy yet firm, lightly browned, beautiful vegan omelets. And, Bianca’s right–Isa IS a genius for unleashing the eggy powers of black salt (kala namak)! It really works! As good as this omelet was, I can’t wait to make one with more standard, less intensely-flavored filling/toppings so that the “egginess” can shine through even more!

Messy, half-eaten money shot. ¡Arriba!

Love you, Isa.

6 responses to “Mexican Tofu Omelet!

  1. Baroque Pop Radio

    Yummy! from Scottsdale

  2. this looks to be about 100 times yummier than the lunch I just ate

  3. I am making these tonight for dinner!

  4. vegan.in.brighton

    YUM! I cannot wait to get my copy of Vegan Brunch.

  5. I'm planning on making these tomorrow! Now I'm thinkin' I should make them tonight…

  6. Hi, Have just come over here from the post punk kitchen forum where you were talking about your omelet. I too made it with ori Nu silken tofu as you can hardly even get that in England – let alone anything else! Didn't have the black salt either. All the good omelet pictures look the same – perfect. And mine looked like yours and tasted yummy with faux ham, tomato and a cheesy thing from The uncheese cook book. Very very easy to make. No problems with sticking or anything. I thought it might be a bit tricky but no, twas easy peasy! So go ahead any one who wants to use Mori Nu – it does work.

Leave a Reply

