Let Live (and Let Eat?)

So, you may have noticed I’ve been MIA the past week or so. I started out in Portland, where I visited my uncles and attended the Let Live Animal Rights Conference. I then headed over to NYC to meet up with my (vegan) best friend, Jo, and then both of us took a bus up to my grandma’s beach house in Long Beach Island, NJ where we spent a few days before heading back to the city to meet my other best friend and my awesome aunt and uncle for 4th of July festivities!

The Let Live conference was great! It was a little scary just showing up there not knowing anyone (because it seemed like most of the attendees already knew each other from Portland activism), especially since I can be kind of shy around new people, but I ended up meeting a lot of awesome vegans–Evan from bjorkedoff, Michelle from Herbivore Clothing, the owners of Cosmo’s Vegan Shoppe (from whom I’ve had the pleasure of buying Sweet & Sara Smores in the past), Lyndsay from VegNews, and best of all, Isa Moskowitz, vegan goddess of all things brunch, and, well, edible!–so it was okay!

The wonderful author of Vegan with a Vengeance, Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, Veganomicon, Vegan Brunch, and soon-to-be Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar enlightening her fellow vegheads:

There were a ton of interesting workshops and lectures to choose from, but I did my best, and I think I got a good mix out of it: How to Reach Environmentalists, Student Activism, Online Social Networking as an Activist Tool, Write for the Animals: Changing Lives, One Word at a Time, Nickle and Dined (Isa’s talk about the misconception that veganism is eltitist and unaffordable), Stump the Vets (where experienced activists respond to often-heard jibes at veganism), Sanctuary Stories, and Moving Beyond Our Differences (within the AR movement). Being an Environmental Analysis major, the first workshop was the most enjoyable for me, as well as potentially useful given that I have so many fellow majors at my school who aren’t even vegetarian…

So much for the actual conference, onto the food!

A moon pie from Sweetpea Baking Company (they had a little stand in the ballroom lunch area at the conference!):

On Saturday my uncles and I went out for Indian food! Roasted Beet Salad with crispy chickpeas, toasted cardamon, and micro cilantro from Vindalho Spice Route Cuisine:

The chickpeas in this salad were amazing! They were baked so well, they were like crunchy nuts or something! I wonder if they just roasted them for a really long time? Hm, I’ll have to try to replicate that…

I also had Masala Channa Dal!

This was fancy Indian at its finest, folks! The latter dish was a nice change from the typical chickpea chana masala too (although that one will always be my favorite).

Okay, now prepare to be jealous. Very jealous. Like, maybe you should just click out now…No? Okay, well don’t say I didn’t warn you. All-you-can-eat vegan brunch at Sweetpea on Sunday!

Tofu scramble, seitan and gravy (there were biscuits too, btu I opted out), tater tots, and kale (because we need to keep up the uber-healthy hippie pretense…okay, maybe it’s not a pretense). Oh, and delicious Stumptown coffee with agave and rice milk!

And I know you were all a little worried that I–or anyone–could have a solely savory brunch, but fear not! Pumpkin-Cranberry Trifle! Mmmmmmm.

Hey, where’d it go? Another good question might be, “Which of the 2 or 3 plates I had is this?” ;)

I also had a wonderful PB Milkshake from Sip (who also had a conference booth), as well as a small Mexican lunch feast from one of the local vegan food carts (I forget which one!), but no pics! :( Sorry, they were both just kind of…brown…anyways. Haha.

NY and NJ food to come!

7 responses to “Let Live (and Let Eat?)

  1. It looks like you had so much fun! I hope to attend a conference like this someday, and eat food that looks that yummy!

  2. vegan.in.brighton

    SO jealous! I can't wait to visit Portland next year, all that food looks delicious and the conference sounds like it'd be really interesting.

  3. That's so cool! Glad you had a good time :)By the way you asked me while I was at my parents' house about Ani's dessert book. She does use a decent amount of coconut oil in some recipes, but then some use none at all. So there is definitely oil, but from what I have made so far it doesn't seem to be overboard like her heavy handed olive oil in the first book.

  4. That conference sounds fascinating. I'd love to go in the future. Sounds like you did lots of great thinking and eating last week!

  5. girl, sooooo jealous about your trip! and all that food, heavens to besty that looks like some fine assed eatin'!

  6. Nora, I would have LOVED to have gone to that conference! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. The talks look so interesting. As for all that delicious food you've been eating lately! Wow! I'm glad you're a girl who likes her food!

  7. Pingback: Easter Brunch « Pride & Vegudice

Leave a Reply

