Ginger-Miso Yam Wraps and Giveaway Winners

Yes, I said winners, plural! I decided I’d give away two boxes of Weil bars given that they’re in anything but short supply around here. The winners are Ruby Red Vegan and aTxVegn. I don’t know how to do the screenshot of the random number generator, so please just believe me! Respectively, their ideal bar flavors were fig/almond and tart cherry/coconut. Simple, but delicious combos, if you ask me!

Oh, and did I say there were two winners? Because there are actually three! Surprise! I decided to pick the final winner based on whose ideal bar most piqued my interest – and my appetite! The best idea for a bar flavor award goes to Pistachio and Cardamom, who in keeping with their name, came up with “pistachio cinnamon fig with white chocolate chips!” I just might have to make that sometime…

Congratulations, guys! As it turns out, you can have any of the five flavors (Goji Moji, Chia-Razz, Banana Manna, Chocolada Walnut, or Pistachi-Oh!) of the Weil bars, so please leave me a comment with your email address so we can connect!

For my post-run breakfast today I had the only thing more refreshing than watermelon: frozen watermelon! Seriously, pop some watermelon chunks in the freezer for 45 min to an hour, and you’re golden (don’t put them in overnight – or if you do, thaw them for a while before eating – or they’ll break your teeth!)

Okay, so I know you all want to see another way to eat God’s gift to earth that is the sweet potato! When I saw the recipe for Ginger-Miso Yam Wraps in the September issue (September already?! Jesus…) of the Vegetarian Times, I knew I had to make it. I mean, sweet potatoes mashed with peanut butter, miso, ginger, edamame, cilantro, and tofu, all wrapped in a deliciously fresh collard green leaf? Um, hello!

Okay, they look like something my dog threw up, but they tasted even better than I’d imagined–the perfect combo of sweet, salt, and even spicy, thanks to the ginger and cayenne. Plus, they were perfect for a light summer meal.

Also, last night I helped my sister and her friends make a berry pie with blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries, using the Oil Crust recipe from The Voluptuous Vegan. I promised I’d blog it for them, so here you go!

I bought ingredients for yet another sweet potato dish for this week!…

12 responses to “Ginger-Miso Yam Wraps and Giveaway Winners

  1. Those wraps look amazing!Do you think you could e-mail me the recipe? I don't have that issue but I do have collards that need to be used!

  2. Elizabeth Jarrard

    wow those wraps look delic! do you know if the recipe is online anywhere? and those pies!! gorgeous!

  3. Pistachio and Cardamom

    HOLY! i had to do a double take when i saw my user name! i love you! I think i'm gonnna pass on the pistachi-oh and try banana manna. Shocker, right? Afterall, my middle name is Danger, you know. Ha! thank you, thank you, thank you! oh here's my e-mail…chimichanga777@yahoo.com

  4. I saw those wraps in Veg Times, and they're the first things I wanted to make – they look wonderful. I love the idea of freezing watermelon until it's just barely frozen – sounds so refreshing, perfect for after work or exercising – great idea!

  5. Oh YAY!!! I'm so excited to be a winner. It's tough to pick a flavor, but I guess I better go with the Chocolada. Thank you very very much. atxvegn AT yahoo DOT com.Your baked goods look excellent as usual. I must go check my mailbox for the new Veg Times because those wraps sound amazing.Thanks again!Diann

  6. sweet potatoes are the best. but i never do anything creative with them like that! obviously i should, because those wraps look so delicious!

  7. Frozen watermelon?! So simple, yet so genius! Love it!

  8. girl i am so with you!! sweet potatoes are most definetely in my top five favorite foods!! it is so crazy to me how so much deliciousness and nutrition can be packed into one little sweetoe! oh, nature :)

  9. those wraps do sound awesome. And pb chocolate pie – yum!

  10. Wow. The wraps look so good.I really like your blog.

  11. I have to be honest and say that the wraps aren't the most appetizing looking thing I've ever seen, but based on your description I can tell they're delicious! Your pies look great, I want to dive into the chocolate/pb pie!

  12. 1) Those ginger-miso yam wraps look and sound like they were sent straight from heaven…2) Thanks for doing the giveaway!!! I am so excited and just emailed you – sorry I'm late!

Leave a Reply

