More Vegan Brunch: Muffins and Frittata

So I’m still steadily making my way through Vegan Brunch – don’t you worry. First up, Blueberry Ginger Spelt Muffins! Made with half the fat (hello applesauce!) and a little bit of whole wheat flour because I ran out of spelt at 1 3/4 cups…

These muffins had such a nice springy texture and didn’t crumble apart in the slightest. Spelt’s the best, yo. And who can resist those bursting trickles of bluebie juice and little nubs of crystallized ginger peeking out of that muffin top?

I also made the Curried Cauliflower Frittata. This was good, but I didn’t loveee it.

I added an extra carrot because adding extra veggies is always better, but besides that, didn’t make any changes!

Here it is after inverting it. I kind of liked the first way better though…maybe I just don’t know what a frittata is supposed to look like?…

I definitely thought it needed a bit more salt, and the curry flavor was a little bit strong (to be fair though, Isa does warn that you might want to decrease the curry powder). The worst part of it was that I started making it with my friend Jo, but she had to leave halfway through and never got any. Sorry, Jo. Good thing it wasn’t amazing, or I would have felt really bad!

So, this post isn’t just brunch! I have a cookie recipe too. I made some significant changes to an old recipe I had lying around. I made these for a democratic event that my mom was volunteering for, hence the picture after the recipe. These cookies are delightfully chewy with a crisp exterior, and the lemon-cranberry-almond pairing – er, tripling? – is to die for! The banana flavor is subtle, but there. Enjoy.

Oatmeal-Lemon-Cranberry-Almond Bundle Cookies
(Adapted/healthified from my school’s coffee house’s recipe)
Makes two to three dozen

3 cups rolled oats
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon lemon juice
zest of one lemon
1 cup sugar
2 bananas
1/4 cup Earth Balance
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup roasted almond slivers

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix the oats, flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside. In an electric mixer, combine the sugar, banana, EB, lemon juice, and lemon zest and mix well. Gradually add the dry ingredients, finishing with the cranberries and almonds. Form cookies into small balls and slightly flatten on a lightly greased baking tray (they won’t spread much at all). Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the tops turn golden brown (they’ll firm up a lot on the tray, so don’t overbake them!)

19 responses to “More Vegan Brunch: Muffins and Frittata

  1. Yes We Can (bake adorable cookies)!Egg frittatas aren't very pretty, either. Give me a sloppy scramble any day.

  2. Your photos are so gorgeous… I just want to snatch one of those muffins right out of the screen! And I swear, if there was ever a more lovely frittata, I have yet to see it.

  3. I adore those spelt muffins – one of my regular breakfasts at work. Spelt really is awesome.Haven't even looked at the frittata recipe…perhaps I should 'cause it looks good.

  4. Hahah, I love the picture at the end. I am with you on the awesomeness of spelt. I prefer it to wheat flour now, it definitely rocks! Plus, it makes such pretty muffins, they look awesome!!

  5. Alyssa Franchetti

    Heehee, I love word bubbles:)

  6. Okay, I definitely need to get me some spelt! And yay for oatmeal cookies; they look delicious!

  7. The Voracious Vegan

    Cookies, muffins and frittatas – oh my!I LOVE Vegan Brunch! Haven't tried the muffins yet, but yours look beautiful. I really liked the curried cauliflower frittata though, but mine didn't stay together as prettily as yours did!

  8. Your posts are always amazing! Love the food, the cookies, and the obama! haha

  9. haha, I just noticed comments are "collards" around here, that's awesome. And those cookies! why do they look so very yummy right now? Maybe I miss cranberries and lemon or something, so I'm filing away the recipe. (and I've got no clue about frittatas either *shrug*)

  10. those cookies look great, so do the muffins. I love spelt flour, I almost always use it in baking now.

  11. vegan.in.brighton

    Yum! I really want to try those muffins asap.

  12. Elizabeth Jarrard

    the cookie with the picture is so great! once again amazing food and gorgeous photos!

  13. haha, nora, i love the sign! cuuuute! and i love your "pairing…er tripling" comment. :) and the cookie ingredients really do sound quite exquisite!

  14. I didn't love the cauli frittata either, but it was okay. The muffins and cookies look incredibly delicious!

  15. Those cookies sound really good. Love the photos, too. We really enjoyed those muffins, but next time I'm going to copy you and use applesauce, too!

  16. I haven't been baking for a while, but I think I'm going to have to try these muffins! Thanks for the advice about the frittata, too! I'll give it a miss, I think…

  17. I'v got an English degree too :)

  18. This makes me want to do more Vegan Brunch cooking – the muffins and frittata look fabulous – I love Barack's cookie endorsement too!

  19. Everything you make looks absolutely gorgeous!And isn't coconut/coconut oil fabulous? That rich, buttery consistency makes every dessert that much more rich and decadent. Mmm!

Leave a Reply

