Dessert (and Tacos!) in the Desert

Hey guys! Long time, no blog! This post is one of the final installments of my effort to stretch my pre-college food adventures into my already-begun-senior-year life! From this point on, posts will be a bit more sporadic and infrequent. I’m sorry, but I have a one-semester Environmental Analysis senior thesis and English senior seminar among many other stressors and responsibilities. I’ll do my best though. I am baking for the Motley, Scripps College’s coffee house, and heading up the 5 College Vegan/Vegetarian Association (VIVA), so hopefully I’ll have some future posts relating to those activities…

Anyways, I drove up to school last Saturday, and one of my favorite things about the drive is my tradition of stopping at the Native Foods on the way! By the time I reached the Palm Desert location around 6:30, I was famished! What does a starving vegan with a penchant for Southwestern fare order? Um, the Tijuana Tacos, duh?!

Soy taco meat, salsa fresca, Native Cheese, shredded romaine lettuce, and guacamole in grilled corn tortillas! Yes, please! The “Native Cheese” was really good – it tasted like some sort of noochy white-bean paste. I haven’t had tacos in a while, so these hit the spot, not the least because it was pretty warm out and these were fresh and light!

I can’t go to Native without getting the Peanut Butter Parfait. I just can’t. I’ve tried.

Creamy peanut butter blend with crumbled Boogie Bars! (Boogies are Native’s glorified banana bread, complete with almonds, oats, coconut, and chocolate chips!) The menu at Palm Desert actually had a typo and said, “Creamy peanut butter bland,” but I can assure you the parfait is anything but bland!

One day I’ll have to try another dessert there, but for now, I’m good.

Also, I said that going to Native was one of my favorite things about the long, steady drive on the I-10 West from Phoenix to LA. My other favorite thing is the stark, yet beautiful scenery:

14 responses to “Dessert (and Tacos!) in the Desert

  1. Stunning food and photos, as always.Hang in there with school!!

  2. vegan.in.brighton

    Oooh lovely pics as always & those tacos look delish! You made me realise I've never had a taco…I'll be rectifying that asap!

  3. Wow, gorgeous scenery…and delicious looking food. I can so understand why you can't not get that Peanut Butter Parfait…it looks like heaven in a glass!

  4. Gorgeous photos! I wish I could be there. Right now all I got to look at is my neighbor's brick house! =( Lame.PB Parfait?! It's just calling my name!

  5. Not only is the food gorgeous, but so is the scenery! Beautiful, beautiful!

  6. Gorgeous view! Good luck with school, the last year is a busy one but it's so worth it in the end!

  7. Welcome back to school! I had a ton of friends at the 5 colleges and think I even had a sticky bun once from Motley.Thanks for the heads up about Native Foods. I had noted it before since my mom lives in Palm Desert (well, Indio really) but had forgotten. Now I can't wait to visit her.Good luck with school!

  8. The Voracious Vegan

    Beautiful pictures and awesome food! That taco looks exactly like what I want for dinner tonight. And that parfait? YUM!

  9. It sounds like you're going to be really busy this semester. Good luck! The food and scenery photos are beautiful! I think I would order that PB parfait every time too.

  10. Dude…you had me at peanut butter parfait! That looks so good! I must get to Native Foods.

  11. Just stumbled upon your blog and I think it's great! I just made the ginger-miso yam wraps yesterday (my first time trying collard greens as well). I love to see how you veganize dishes. I'm actually going to make some nachos after seeing your post (but I'll be missing the guac goodness boooo).Take care!

  12. Hi there, ive just come across your blog. Those tacos look so delicious and fresh!Your road trip looks great, what amazing scenery! That sky is just gorgeous.Rose

  13. Peanut butter parfait? Oh, yes please!

  14. Color me jealous, I've never been to a Native Foods! Looks great.

Leave a Reply

