How We Love Zee Pizza!

First of all, I just wanted to thank all of my caring readers for being so supportive of me in my half marathon! Your words meant a lot to me, and for those readers who said that my race had inspired them to consider training for one, I’m so glad that I was able to inspire you to inspire yourself! In other running news, I’ll most likely be doing the P.F. Chang’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon at home in January! I guess once you start, you can’t stop! I wanna get under 2 hours!

Now to the main point of business. So, um, Zpizza is the bomb.

Recently having discovered that there’s a Zpizza in Upland, just 20 minutes away from Pomona, my vegan friend Stephanie and my gluten- and dairy-free friend James decided to have a study party with pizza pizza party (to be fair, we maybe did homework for 15 minutes…)

The only pizza I’ve had since being vegan, not counting ones I’ve made myself at home, was at Viva Herbal in NYC and at Green in Tempe (will be posting about that soon!), but NEVER before have I had delivery pizza. Classic, greasy, delivery pizza with a real crust and melty “cheese.”

I’m pretty sure Stephanie and James were in a similar boat, because we were all really freaking excited when these boxes finally arrived (we were also excited that delivery was free…)

Zpizza is unique in that, not only do they have vegan cheese (they used to have a non-vegan soy one with casein, but now they use Daiya, which is soy-free – and free of most allergens, at that – and made of cassava root! They haven’t updated the site yet, so just call your local Zpizza to make sure they now use Daiya), but they also offer whole-wheat and gluten-free crusts, and organic tomato sauce. And that’s not to mention their more than extensive range of fresh and healthful toppings! Some of which toppings you’re about to get a nice little preview…

Steph and I split a large pizza (we ordered whole-wheat, but I’m pretty sure that’s not what we got…oh well). My half was roasted garlic sauce, Daiya cheese (duh), spinach, caramelized onions, roasted yams, pineapple, and fresh basil:

Steph’s was the same, but with eggplant instead of the pineapple, and with tomato sauce as well:

And Jamesie got a nice little gluten-free personal pizza. He wanted his to be a traditional cheese pizza, so he stuck with tomato sauce, Daiya, and basil. Can’t blame him, though. Look at it!

Yeah, I know you’re waiting for the delightfully greasy, mid-bite money shot…

Daiya tastes best hot, so be sure to reheat your slices if they cool down – it really makes a difference in your Zpizza experience, I promise.

Next time, I think I’m getting tomato sauce, Daiya, avocado, sun-dried tomatoes, and cilantro. Oh, and actually on whole wheat this time.

Back to the pizza party. You didn’t think we could end it without dessert, didya?

What flavor? Why, only the best ice cream known to vegankind – and mankind! Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Cookie Dough!

It’s gluten-free, which I had forgotten until I saw the labeling at the store, and then I just knew I had to get it to round out our night. See picture below for humongous chunk of said gluten-free cookie dough.

Happy kids, finally feeling like typical, unhealthy college students.

13 responses to “How We Love Zee Pizza!

  1. ohhhhhmg, I want to be at your house for a real honest to goodness pizza party! I know just what you mean about greasy pizza boxes – I'm still waiting for Daiya to make the rounds in my city, maybe someday… *crosses cheeze-loving fingers*I hear you on the slightly ugh looking sweet potato filling, too, haha. Fortunately it was just me eatin then. :PI am so trying those cookies!!

  2. I hope one day I will be able to try Daiya! It sounds so good!

  3. Holy melting vegan cheese! That pizza looks absurdly delicious, much better than any dairy-free pizza I've had in the previous 5 years or so. I'm putting this place on my list of restaurants to check out when I'm in the city!

  4. Elizabeth Jarrard

    mmmm!! i've never heard of daiya but i wanna check it out!!!!!omg i want that ice cream!!!!!!!!cookie dough get in me now!!!

  5. You are so lucky! Vegan AND gf pizza? I may need to head west. That sounds like a really nice selection of toppings, too. And yes, gluten-free chocolate chip cookie dough coconut ice cream is THE BEST!

  6. That is so awesome!!! No.. FANTASTIQUE! :DI have a coupon for the Purely Decadent ice cream… and I KNOW that I will have to get something other than vanilla :D

  7. Michelle-pure2raw

    pizza looked amazing, I have heard of zpizza, glad to hear it is good! I love coconut ice cream…and cookie dough makes it even better:)Congrats on the half marathon!!!!

  8. looks like you guys had a fun night! can't get any better than pizza and ice cream, can it!

  9. I am jealous both of vegan cheese on delivery pizza and that ice cream. Yum!

  10. Daiya pizza with roasted yams? I'm totally sold. I just looked for locations near me, and the closest one is a few cities away. Boohoo.The ice cream looks amazing too, with gluten free cookie dough?!? Crazy. Now I'm wanting to go load up on junk food!

  11. Yum and double YUM! Thanks so much for showing that ANYONE can eat "normal" food when they have special diets. I hope that zpizza gets many more locations!

  12. yum that pizza looks amazing.

  13. Oh my Nora! That looks amazing!!! I'm so jealous. I've never even heard of zpizza.As for the scrambled tortillas, they do get a little soggy…but I like that. I always liked the texture corn tortillas got when mixed into soups. It's kinda like that, but not quite that soggy.

Leave a Reply

