MoFo Consolation

Sadly, I will NOT be participating in Vegan MoFo 2009. Honestly, I would love to, but in addition to the fact that I don’t have access to a well-stocked kitchen at school, my thesis completely precludes the possibility. I have approximately 30 pages due mid-October, so although there will undoubtedly be a mofo in my life, it will be a paper, and not a series of culinary creations.

To make up for my non-participation, I decided, at the very least, to kick off the month of October with a fun post, so here’s my midnight contribution to Vegan Mofo 2009!

1-2-3 Peanut Butter Cookies
from Bittersweet Blog!

I made these at the behest of a friend in our school’s climate group. They’re doing a dorm energy-saving challenge, and those who sign up will receive one of these little gems! They’re hoping for a lot of sign-ups, so I tripled the recipe, using over 3 jars of PB. ;)

I chose this recipe because it was simple (just peanut butter, sugar, and ground flaxseeds!) so that they could easily pick up the ingredients, and get them organic, at that, from Trader Joe’s at a good price.

Wait, I lied. My friend Steph and I added chocolate chips, so I guess these were 1-2-3-4 Peanut Butter Cookies. But hey, either way, they ended up as delicious “buttery,” melt-in-your-mouth, crumbly domes of caramelized peanut butter lovin’.

I definitely recommend adding a mix-in. Next time, however, I might go for something a little less sweet, or if not that, slightly tart or sour, like dried cranberries or cherries, just because the cookies are so sweet themselves (given the fact that their volume is about 50% sugah!)

Something that’s so obvious that it might not be obvious at all is that these are gluten-free–by virtue of the fact that there’s no flour at all. :)

MoFo 2010, I will own you.

But until then, I’ll be eating cookies and reading others’ MoPosts!

19 responses to “MoFo Consolation

  1. I feel for you as I also have a thesis to write. Good luck and happy cookie eating!

  2. Yeah…I won't be participating either. Just too busy.but those cookies look bangin'!!!

  3. The Voracious Vegan

    Awww I'm sad to hear you won't be mofo'ing it up with us! But the consolation prize of 123(4) peanut butter cookies is a-okay with me! Those look SO beautiful.Good luck with your thesis!

  4. You should make a little logo that says Vegan MoThesis. Or not. Thanks for reminding me about those peanut butter cookies. They are gluten-free, so I HAVE to try them!

  5. It's good to know that you had such success with a triple batch! And yes, chocolate chips to increase the delicious-factor by about 100, instantly.Best of luck writing your thesis! I dread the day when I have to do the same.

  6. Can you post the recipe?

  7. Hey mom, the recipe's linked too right before the first photo! :)

  8. Good luck with your thesis! I'm sure the cookies will go over very well…everything I make from a Hannah recipe turns out amazing!

  9. those cookies look awesome- sorry you won't be mofoing, but good luck with your thesis!p.s. I did go to the Jane Austen museum- it was great!

  10. If you've gotta write a thesis, you might as well have cookies. Enjoy!

  11. I really love your blog. Good luck on your thesis.

  12. Good luck with your thesis! Try not to stress too much.Your cookies look fabulous! I don't know how I missed that recipe on Hannah's site. I'll have to give 'em a try.

  13. The Shenandoah Vegan

    Those do look good!

  14. Mmmm, cookies!

  15. I remember these cookies. I'll definitely have to try them.

  16. Delicious cookies! I'm not participating in MoFo this year either. *weeps*

  17. Those cookies look fantastic! Good luck getting your thesis finished. Hopefully you can spare a few minutes to blog every now and again. If nothing else, it's a good stress reliever!

  18. Those cookies look delish!

  19. omg, that paper! my sympathies, and my total conviction that you'll do great. And those cookies!! wait, there's a pb cookie I haven't made yet, and it's a recipe without flour? ahhhhh, so doing this, probably this week! thanks!

Leave a Reply

