A Little More Hamilton Love

First of all, I wanted to thank all you guys for your incredibly nice comments, especially on my last post! I really want to take a photography class, but so far I’ve just been teaching myself, so it means a lot to hear that I’m doing something right! You guys made my day.

Consider this post “part two” of my fall break visit with my sister.

I think “part one” adequately conveyed how beautiful Colgate’s campus is, so I think I’ll focus on how delightfully adorable the town is.

The town basically consists of a café, a chocolate shop, a movie theater, and an apothecary.
Okay, that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but still, they have an apothecary!

So getting back to how I lied, there are two coffee shops in town. My sister’s favorite is the Barge, and being the coffee shop connoisseur that I am, I must say that I approve her choice.

Not only is the Barge super cozy, with tons of tables and squishy armchairs, and a wide selection of tea (including desert sage!) but they have vegan sandwiches and vegan cookies!

I didn’t get one, but aren’t they cute?

We spent a lazy Monday morning studying there–Liv reading, and I thesising.

And alongside my cinnamon-cardamom tea I had two brown rice cakes with a packet of Justin’s Classic Almond Butter and a sprinkling of nutmeg. Perfect.

The chocolate shop I mentioned is called Maxwells. It’s your classic candy shop & soda bar. It even had vegan milkshakes (chocolate and vanilla!), though, again, I didn’t have the pleasure. Sorry!

That night we saw Where the Wild Things Are at the Hamilton Movie Theater.

It was a long, cold walk to and from our 8:45 showing, and I may or may not have looked like a wild thing in my ridiculous–yet beloved–Betsy Johnson faux fur-trimmed velvet coat, but I enjoyed reliving a childhood classic with my little sister, even if it couldn’t possibly capture the book’s magic.

Speaking of magic, I thought this house on the way into town looked like it was full of it. It’s like my Victorian-inspired dream haven.

And now I want a pink house. With a blue door.

12 responses to “A Little More Hamilton Love

  1. What a beautiful town!

  2. These photos truly capture the essence of Hamilton, NY – your photography skills continue to shine through!

  3. Devan Geselle. N

    your photos are all so beautiful!i loved Where the Wild Things Are.. such a breathtaking film

  4. Gorgeous photos! You are really talented girl!

  5. These pictures are really gorgeous! I like how they're orangey-brown, it makes the town look old-fashioned. Hamilton sounds a lot like Orono, a few towns north of me where UMaine is. A short little Maine Street with coffee shop, a yarn store, a pizza place, a hardware store, and that's about it.

  6. The Voracious Vegan

    Awww I want to go there! It looks like that town would be the perfect place to spend the Fall, all the beautiful colors, quaint cafes, and so much coziness! You are definitely a talented photographer, you really have an eye for capturing the most captivating shots.

  7. Beautiful pics – I want to go to that cafe and eat those vegan goodies. NOW.

  8. Beautiful photos for a beautiful town! And, um, I think I love that house, too.

  9. Wow, I love fall, your pics just make me so happy. There is just nothing more cozy and wonderful than crisp fall days. Wonderful blog- thank you!

  10. The photos are great! And the pumpkin cookies from the previous post…YUM!!

  11. What a nice town! All your photos look absolutely beautiful!!! I don't think you need to go to a class, you're so talented! Way to go!

  12. Looks like it should be autumn all year round in Hamilton. It is beautiful and colourful!

Leave a Reply

