Dorm Room Dinners: Indian Feast

This is the first of a series of posts I’ll call “Dorm Room Dinners,” even though sometimes, it might be lunch. The point being to give you a look–or taste!–at how easy and delicious it is to be vegan, even on a dining hall meal plan in college. Sure, the quality’s not comparable to what you could produce living at home with your own kitchen (plus, I feel like, a year and a half into being vegan, my cooking skills have gotten to the point where I usually prefer my own handiwork to the meals I get–and pay more for–when I eat out anyways). Still, with a little creativity, dining hall food can be quite enjoyable.

Here’s a recent lunch from Pomona’s dining hall, Frary (it’s our “Harry Potter” dining hall…see for yourself!)

I got some Indian-spiced mixed vegetables (cauliflower, celery, carrots, potatoes, green beans, and onions) and stewed lentils from the regular buffet line, and steamed asparagus from the “Farm to Fork” vegetarian/vegan section. I brought them back to my dorm room in my reusable plastic take-out box, and rounded out the meal with half a microwave-nuked sweet potato (I know, I know, but I don’t have an oven!), drizzled with coconut oil, cinnamon, and sea salt.

Life could be worse.

8 responses to “Dorm Room Dinners: Indian Feast

  1. Haha, it is very Harry Potter-esque! Doesn't look too shabby to me, and sometimes you just need something quick :)

  2. That dining hall is pretty stunning! But your food is, too!

  3. The Voracious Vegan

    Yummy! Indian food is always good. This looks simple and tasty and is pretty impressive for cafeteria fare.

  4. That is the fanciest cafeteria I have ever seen. Your meal looks delicious! It's great that you have a vegetarian/vegan section. I think this is a great idea for a series of posts! Other college students will find it very helpful (or be very jealous).

  5. That's quite the Harry Potter dining hall! I have to use a microwave at work and it's not my favorite thing either. I had one of those electric pocket sandwich maker things in my dorm room. It's kinda weird and probably not totally dorm legal, but it made some nice toasted sandwiches.

  6. Wow what a cool cafeteria!I like that your cafeteria has great vegan options…back in the day when I was in a dorm the only thing vegan was salad or french fries. I look forward to this series of posts!

  7. Nora, you should write up a guidebook for Aramark, advising them on their vegan offerings nationwide….

  8. ups sorry delete plz [url=http://duhum.com].[/url]

Leave a Reply

