Happy Halloween! Quesadaiya and Chocolates!

Happy Halloween, everyone! After Thanksgiving, it may be my favorite holiday. Okay, so I really like Christmas and Hanukkah too–shoot me!

My costume this year is GREAT – I’m being one of my favorite characters in all literature/pop culture: Alice (in Wonderland). I’m so excited to get ready and go out with my friends, although the big 5-college party here, Harwood Halloween, is pretty disgusting (Imagine thousands of drunk, sweaty, scantily clad students in a dark, underground parking garage; liberties are taken). I won’t be getting crunk, as it were, but I do plan on having a lot of fun and looking illegally cute.

What’s the perfect Halloween treat? Orange and black quesadilla, of course! Or should I say, quesaDAIYA?!

Cheddar Daiya cheese +black beans + Food for Life Whole Grain Gluten-Free Brown Rice Tortilla = not only appropriately festive and absurdly delicious, but absolutely allergen-free! Daiya, made of cassava root (a.k.a. tapioca) is free of soy, casein, lactose, gluten, eggs, corn, and nuts, and the tortilla is as it’s named–gluten-free! In other words, move over casein-dillas! There’s no one who can’t enjoy the comforting richness that is a quesadilla! I swear I’m done with quesadilla wordplay.

Of course, being the good little vegan that I am, I added some veggie power in the form of bell peppers, red onions, and fresh cilantro.

I’ve had Daiya on zpizza before, but this was the first time I’d used it myself. I picked up a pack of both the Cheddar and Italian at Whole Foods yesterday, along with the tortillas, craving the microwave quesadillas of my childhood after-school snacks.

Daiya definitely delivered. It literally melted exactly like cow’s milk cheese in the microwave, and tasted phenomenal. The tortillas were great too! I’ve never had them before.

Stringymeltylovelovelove.

CHOMP.

Of course, you can’t have Halloween without candy. But I’m classy, so I went with some fancy vegan chocolates that my wonderful vegan superstar friend Stephanie got me from Whole Foods.

One.

Two.

Three.

The first one was your basic chocolate caramel. Except better, because it definitely had a hint of warm autumn-y spices. The second was also caramelish, but with a nice, crunchy almond in the center. My favorite by far, however, was the raspberry jam-filled apostrophe! (Haha, isn’t that the best way to describe that shape?!) It was not only printed with a gorgeous design, but the gooey, sugary filling was to die for. Plus, it reminded me of oozing, bloody guts, which is perfect for Halloween.

15 responses to “Happy Halloween! Quesadaiya and Chocolates!

  1. Jessie (Vegan-minded)

    Daiya and gourmet chocolates? Now I'm jealous! Yum. :)

  2. The food looks great…I can't find anywhere around here that sells Daiya; I'm dying to taste it though.Happy Halloween; have fun!

  3. Love the festive quesadillas!Happy Halloween!! :)

  4. Raising Seven Vegans

    Just found your blog and your pictures have left me very hungry! Happy Halloween

  5. Happy Halloween, Nora!Wow, you got me all hungry for quesadillas now. Caramel filled truffles have always been my favourite ones, these look very tempting.

  6. Those quesadillas looks so good! I really need to get my hands on some Daiya. I have yet to try any vegan cheese that actually melts! I hope you had fun on Halloween! It's so funny that we both decided to wear the same costume this year.

  7. I'm so jealous that you got to try daiya! I want to try that stuff so badly!

  8. I have got to get some daiya! My son wants vegan pizza for his bday in December and I am going to order some daiya for it.. yum!And the chocolates.. yummy!Debra @ Vegan Family Style

  9. OMG those chocolates… Your photos make me want to lick the screen!Hope you had a Happy Halloween! :)

  10. lulz at all of your cheesy puns! (ha!)

  11. Daiya sounds excellent! I've tried those brown rice wraps, but I found them icky and stiff. I'm glad you liked them! Please post pictures of your Halloween costume!

  12. That quesadilla looks seriously amazing – I've never seen Daiya around here, but looks like I need to try it. And black beans are always good. Yum!

  13. What a yummy Halloween! Your quesadillas look soooo delicious.

  14. Melisser; the Urban Housewife

    Whole Foods had vegan caramels?! Wow! I like Daiya in 'dillas, but not as much on pizza.

  15. The Shenandoah Vegan

    No Daiya at the Whole Foods in Virginia. No vegan caramels either. Guess Whole Foods doesn't think their customers are as evolved on the East coast as the West coast…

Leave a Reply

