Roasted Acorn Squash (+ Seeds!)

I picked up an acorn squash at Trader Joe’s a few days ago for $0.99! Sure, it wasn’t organic (so I didn’t eat the peel), but still! Under a dollar for a pound or two of sweet, decadent bliss? I’ll take it.

I just cut it in half, scooped out the guts and seeds, sliced it into crescents, then very liberally drizzled it with extra-virgin coconut oil. A few big pinches of sea salt, some black pepper, and crushed rosemary sealed the deal and into the 400 F oven it went for 40 minutes or so! I’ll tell ya, coconut oil might be even better than olive oil for roasting squash or sweet potatoes…

Is there any pleasure in life greater than slightly charred on the outside, creamy on the inside roasted orange/yellow-fleshed veggies? Maybe roasted orange/yellow-fleshed veggies spread with peanut butter, but that’s all I can think of.

Waste not, want not! Roasted squash seeds!

Spritzed with canola oil and sprinkled with sea salt, cinnamon, cumin, and mesquite powder. Toasted 20 minutes or so at 350 F.

And thennnnn, I had way too much fun:

Don’t judge me?

7 responses to “Roasted Acorn Squash (+ Seeds!)

  1. Yum! I love roasted winter squash. I eat way too much of it in the fall/winter and then my hands turn orange :)

  2. I love pumpkin seeds so much!

  3. Roasted squash rocks! I'll have to try it with coconut oil, never thought of doing that! And it does look like you had a good time with those seeds… :)

  4. Roasted squash is amazing, and just plain phenomenal with coconut oil. That is my choice oil for roasting, sauteing, etc…

  5. I often roast squashes when I need the purée for something…and then I eat it the squash all by itself.

  6. Yum! I really need to just roast some plain squash and try it with PB. That sounds so delicious. I'm always adding it to recipes or something. But plain roasted winter squash with PB sounds like heaven.

  7. That squash looks sooooo good! You roasted it perfectly and I love that you roasted the seeds too.

Leave a Reply

