Oldie, But Goodie

Okay, so I know every vegan worth his or her coarse sea salt has made banana bread–and probably even this very recipe for banana bread–countless times, but the Vcon Lower-Fat Banana Bread just doesn’t get old!

I’ve made this bread more times than I’ve been asked where I get my protein from. ;)
In fact, given that I bake this bread (along with some other goodies) weekly for the Motley Coffeehouse here at the Claremont Colleges, I don’t even need to look at the recipe anymore! Plus, if I did mess up–which, um, would never happen–the recipe’s so forgiving, it wouldn’t matter.

This loaf was made, as I always do, with whole wheat pastry flour, half a package of chocolate chips (TJ’s brand, baby!), and, the one new thing I tried, banana slices on top! I just sliced half a banana really thin, laid them on top, and slightly pressed them down into the batter. It made a really cool pattern when the bread rose around them too, as you can see in the first photo!

I know this is kind of nerdy, but I love that this bread slices so beautifully. It also helps that I use more bananas than called for (I do 3 large or 4 small instead of 2 large or 3 small), so there’s no crumbly dryness to deal with, and that I let it set overnight before cutting into it. Still, lovely.


24 responses to “Oldie, But Goodie

  1. Devan Geselle. N

    beautiful photosdelicious bread.

  2. The Voracious Vegan

    WOW! Those pictures are stunning. You can tell that this bread is amazingly moist, just the way I like it. You can't go wrong with vegan choc chips!

  3. I have actually never made this. But I was looking for good bread recipes to bring to my friend this weekend (she is having a baby), and this sounds perfect :) Time to break out the V'con.

  4. I love banana bread! (Especially with chocolate chips). I have Vcon, so I will have to try this recipe soon. ;)Yours is beautiful!

  5. LOOOOOOVE that recipe!

  6. I can't believe I've never tried that recipe!

  7. Nicole (anotheronebitesthecrust.wordpress.com)

    So, so, so, so GORGEOUS!

  8. Mmm, I love banana bread. That recipe is ONE of my favorites. Your pictures look so pretty! I love the banana slices on top.

  9. It's that letting it sit overnight before cutting into it that I would have a problem with. I've never actually made the VCon banana bread. I know that makes me a bad vegan…and an even worse PPK-er. Then again, the fact that I haven't been on the PPK in two months also makes me a bad PPK-er (and subsequently a bad vegan).

  10. nanner slices make everything divine. :)

  11. I'm impressed that you can wait a night before cutting into something so yummy-looking! Baked goods barely last overnight around here. Though I suppose if you were saving it to share that might be understandable. :)

  12. I love that recipe too (I always add walnuts…but adding chocolate too is an awesome idea and the sliced banana on top is real cool).

  13. Jessie (Vegan-minded)

    I love that recipe! Your pictures are making me hungry, they are gorgeous!

  14. That bread looks amazing!! :) The pictures are so yummy to look at!- Lindsay http://www.kissmyvegan.blogspot.com

  15. Just beautiful. Mmmm, banana bread…

  16. you're sooo right! banana bread NEVER gets old for me!! especially smeared with pb and enjoyed with a hot cup of black coffee. so much joy!!

  17. Banana bread is the best, and I've never even made it with chocolate chips – I can't believe I've never made the Vcon version, but it looks awesome!

  18. That looks gorgeous, I love that you topped it with slices of banana

  19. Melisser; the Urban Housewife

    Banana bread is ALWAYS good!

  20. Oh shoot! I've sucessfully been a vegan now for 4 months, I own VCom, and I love banana bread…yet for some reason I have not made that recipe yet! Guess I need to turn that around if I want to earn that sea salt sitting in my Scottish cabinet! Thanks for reminding me :)

  21. Next time you should hand out this bread if someone askes about protein. lol.

  22. Those are really nice photos! I've never made this recipe (I live with a banana bread-hater). I love your banana slices on top idea!

  23. i frikkin love that recipe! i have never made it without chocolate chips b/c i can't imagine why you'd do yourself such a disservice. :o)i like the banana slices on top, i'll have to try that next time!

  24. Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

