Package Swap

I was lucky enough not only to get in on a vegan care package swap this year, but to be paired up with the orchestrator herself, the wonderful Lindsay from Cooking for a Vegan Lover!

For a look at the package I sent Lindsay, click here!
Here’s what I received:

I know, I know, Lindsay’s awesome! In the back we have some Road’s End Organics Golden Gravy Mix–I can already see a nice dorm room dinner with that in my near future–and (also organic!) Pacific Natural Foods Simply Tea in Green Tea Tangerine flavor!

Lindsay’s from Vermont, so she also sent me some VT specialties:

Liz Lovely Gluten-Free Ginger Molasses Cookies (Did you know Liz Lovely was Vermont-based?), and of course, real Vermont Pure Maple Syrup from Kingdom Mountain family farm!

The package also included a mother load of PranaBars, which I’ve never had before, but am really excited about because the flavors are so exotic and healthy! These superfood bars are all organic, gluten-free, vegan, and mostly raw.

Yeha, that’s apricot pumpkin. Can you believe it? There’s also coconut acaí, pear ginseng, cashew almond, apricot goji, and apple pie. These will be perfect pre-run snacks when, come winter break, I start training for the January half marathon I’m doing!

The package also included two packs of Heart Thrive bars, cranberry and chocolate, which I’ve seen before, but never tried (and isn’t that the point of these exchanges? to try things that you might not normally buy because they’re a luxury or you don’t know what they’re like?). I really, really like that they’re heart-shaped. I think eating them will be that much more fun.

Also, as you can see, Trader Joe’s Instant Vanilla Pudding! I’ve seen it in stores, but never realized it was vegan–all you have to do is add non-dairy milk instead of cow’s milk. Sweet. :)

The remainder of the package was lots of fun little trinkets, like milled flaxseed, green tea mints, gummy bears, a JamFrakas bar, and hot sauce.

Thanks so much, Lindsay. This was a great first swap experience, and I’ll definitely be doing more in the future because I had so much fun. Opening the package was like vegan Christmas.

Also–ugh–this is one of those posts where almost every single paragraph ends with an extra word that wouldn’t fit on the line above it. I could try to fix it, but it’s kind of funny. I’m sure all bloggers get annoyed about little things like that, so I’ll leave it as a tribute!

Finally, Maggie at My Breakfast Blog tagged me for “Truth Week,” so here’s my little piece of kind of embarrassing truth: Sometimes when I’m snacking on a jar of peanut butter straight with a spoon (not a plain jar, but fancy, semi-expensive ones like PB & Co. flavors), I’ll make myself put it in the freezer to make sure I save it for more exciting uses than eating it plain, like oatmeal, baking, and fun sandwiches. I’m all for eating PB plain–God knows I do it enough–but when you pay so much for nice nut butters that aren’t always easy to find in the first place, it can kind of suck to go through it so quickly. It’s sad that I have to freeze it, but I just love PB that much. Truth!

Edited to add: HAHA, even my note about my paragraphs ended up with an extra word on another line! FML. I bet it will happen to this one too.

14 responses to “Package Swap

  1. Awesome package swap goodies!Fun truth statement :)

  2. That looks great!I just discovered your blog and love it!

  3. I'm kicking myself for not participating in that swap! Silly Kelly. You got some great goodies, though. Yaaay vegan Christmas!

  4. Ass kicking hot sauce? That sounds promising! What a wonderful package you got. It must have been so exiting to open it.

  5. I'm totally going to buy that pudding today! I never knew it was vegan!Great idea with the PB! I can't control myself either, so I'll be trying this out next time.

  6. The Voracious Vegan

    Awww you are so lucky! It looks like you got some great stuff, especially that hot sauce. I would be using that on EVERYTHING!

  7. The Shenandoah Vegan

    What blogger did you send your package to?

  8. Swapping sounds like so much fun! How do you get in on this?? :)OH, and those Prana bars ARE amazing. I've tried the coconut acai, which is very very delicious, especially if you like coconut.

  9. I love swaps! It's so fun to shop for someone I've never met in person and pick out all my favorite vegan treats to share.

  10. The Shenandoah Vegan

    Oh. I get it. It's an actual one-on-one swap. Doy! I thought vegans were just sending packages around like secret santas.

  11. You can enjoy this package for a long time – how awesome! My truth – I love pb too much too and I had to just quit buying it.

  12. I LOVE the Heart Thrives – I have a ton in mu freezer right now. They're better a tad warmer, if you're not adverse to popping in the micro for ten seconds. Otherwise, leave in a warm sunny spot and ENJOY!

  13. Melisser; the Urban Housewife

    How FUN! I love getting packages in the mail.

  14. Hey Nora! I wouldn't lie about the stevia and how it tasted in the banana bread. I thought it tasted pretty identical to sugar. I don't know if it was clear though that I used the baking blend, which isn't the same as pouring in 1/2 cups worth of stevia packets…

Leave a Reply

