First Thanksgiving, 2009

First of all, I have to apologize for my extended absence. I’ve had so many things worthy of posting, but so little time! The rough draft of my thesis was due today, and I just emailed all 93 pages of it to my two readers! It’s currently conclusionless, so I’m guessing it will clock in at around 100, but the worst is over! Plus, 100 pages on veganism is 100 pages well spent, I say.

I lurveee me some Thanksgiving, so I can’t complain that I got two this year!

The first–and more unique–one was at Animal Acres Farm Sanctuary in Acton, CA. The first time I went to AA (no, not Alcoholics Anonymous) this year was for my friend Stephanie’s birthday, and it was just our group, but this time, it was a full-fledged event of a couple hundred people: the Thankful Turkeys Celebration!

For the first hour or two, we just got to walk around, and hang out with the animals. This is Regina (or Regina’s cute little butt), the baby of the sanctuary.

Pretty pink piggies:

And we got to feed the horses. This is my friend, Dawn, with her lovely hair the same gorgeous auburn color as the fella she’s feeding. :)

Then it was time for the main event, the “Feed the Turkeys Ceremony!” All the kids lined up at the end of the yard, ready with the turkeys’ (and the other birds’) Thanksgiving feast.

They smell something:

First course, salad.

Also, plenty of “stuffed squash,” a.k.a. pumpkins filled with seeds. Oh, and cranberries!

Also, pumpkin pie. But–and I know this is a shocker, folks–turkeys apparently don’t like pie, and prefer salad and seeds. After being completely and utterly neglected, this pie’s smile turned upside down.

The funniest part was that some of the kids who got tricked into holding pies got really frustrated that their goods were undesirable (squash envy?). Hence:

Having fed the turkeys, it was time for our feast, catered by LA’s One World Vegetarian Cuisine.

Some sort of savory roast with stuffing and a frighteningly skin-like skin, mashed potatoes with (excessively oily) gravy, and roasted vegetables. The roast was One World’s own recipe, and it was absolutely wonderful. I couldn’t believe how soft and chewy the “meat” was, and the stuffing was carby comfort food at its finest. And the potatoes and vegetables were, well, potatoes and vegetables. Simple, but good.

Stephanie and Dawn at dinner (or whatever the 3 ‘o clock meal is called):

And then…a chicken tried to eat someone’s leftovers.

The end.

Be back soon with my second, real Thanksgiving!

14 responses to “First Thanksgiving, 2009

  1. Congrats on handing in your thesis, even if it is conclusionless! :)And, um, holy crap. Your [first] Thanksgiving looks and sounds like such a wonderful experience! I love the idea of feeding the turkeys… so awesome.

  2. Fun! I wish that was my Thanksgiving! I want to visit a sanctuary so bad!!! I've been a lovely elephant sanctuary in Tennessee, but I wanna see happy, healthy, rescued un-farm animals. By the way, I'm blogging tonight about my newfound love of baked sweet potatoes with nut butter – totally inspired by you!

  3. Glad you had a nice celebration and are handling the stress well – hang in there!

  4. Jessie (vegan-minded)

    I love seeing your photos from the sanctuary. I have always wanted to visit one, but have not had the chance yet. Looks like you a memorable Thanksgiving!

  5. BEAUTIFUL PICTURES!!!

  6. Awwwww! Piggies and cow butts! I wish we had a sanctuary nearby.

  7. Congrats on your thesis (well, almost) ;) Looks like such a great day. Little piglets are just the cutest things ever!

  8. Congratulations on your thesis! For me, conclusions are the hardest part, so good luck with that.Your thanksgiving 1 looks great! It must be awesome to spend a holiday like t-giving with the animals.

  9. Brittany Boersma

    Love your photo's:)

  10. Hey! On the onion rings: I actually did use some of Alicia's recipe. She had vegan worcestershire and Old Bay in her batter so I used those b/c the Skinny Bitch recipe didn't have much seasoning. But I followed the SBitK recipe for the cornmeal/breadcrumb breading.

  11. Congratulations on your thesis, that is awesome!Sounds like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  12. River - The Crafty Kook

    Aww, Nora! I love this post! Regina has a very cute little butt! Horse-feeding is one of my favorite things to do, even though there are no horses around here. The dinner looks delicious, it's not surprising that the chicken tried to steal it! :-D

  13. Looks like you had fun at the sanctuary. What a peaceful way to start the holidays.

  14. I know I'm late, but I just found your blog through a friend.I think I'm in love with you. In a completely "hetero I-used-to-be-an-english-major-too austen-obsessed veganista" way!AND you completely won me over with this post because I visited AA the weekend before Thanksgiving for the first time!!!I LOVE that place, and made fast friends with Petunia the turkey. What a wonderful place, I'm glad you got to eat there!

Leave a Reply

