Sick Days

As it often happens, my rainy day was followed by a sick day, or two (maybe three–we’ll see how I feel tomorrow). Come to think of it, I’m pretty sure that my current bout of sickness has a lot more to do with my sick–yet wonderful!–suitemate and extreme levels of stress than it does the rain, but I like having a natural sequence to my posts. :)

I have a super sore throat, and last night I was running a bit of a fever, as far as I could tell. I hate, hate, hate taking conventional medicine unless it’s absolutely necessary, so I’ve been doing what any antibiotic-weary, holistically-minded vegan would do: loading up on vitamins and stuffing my face with ridiculously healthy food.

When I first woke up yesterday morning, I knew I’d need a fresh veggie juice. I basically asked for everything except for fruit, and ended up with kale/spinach/dandelion/parsley/garlic/ginger/lemon/bell pepper/cucumber/carrot juice! Whoa! Lotsa great cold/virus-fighting ingredients in there–especially the garlic, ginger, and lemon!

I followed that up with a Raw Greens Salad, to go.

It’s almost like my juice, deconstructed! Dandelion, kale, collard greens, cucumber, green onion, carrot, lemon, olive oil, garlic, and sea salt. Fresh and invigorating.

I really miss not having my leafy greens in the dining halls, so every once in a while, it’s nice to splurge on an overpriced salad like this.

I also picked up some Amy’s Split Pea Soup, because who wants anything but liquefied food when it feels like your throat is being shredded from the inside out? Even my raw salad was a bit hard to get down.

Anddd, more garlic and ginger. I’ve been taking garlic in the form of minced raw cloves for its antifungal, antiviral, and antibacterial properties, and making lots of fresh ginger tea for its anti-inflammatory properties. Wow, can you tell I worked for Dr. Weil much? I’ve also been drinking more than my fair share of coconut water (vitamins, minerals, and electrolytes!) and hot water with lemon.

Finally, I couldn’t resist buying a kabocha squash at the health food store. Besides soup, roasted squash has to be the perfect sick day food. Comforting, warm, and filling, but still light and easy to digest.

I sliced it up, slathered it in coconut oil, sprinkled it with sea salt, and popped it into a 400 F oven for exactly 40 minutes. It came out perfectly.

And yeah, the only thing better than roasted vegetables is roasted vegetables with hummus! (Well, peanut butter is better than everything, but that’s besides the point).

I just puréed some chickpeas, garlic, olive oil, lemon, cumin, sea salt, and a splash of water in my Magic Bullet, and voilà! Fresh hummus! (I stopped eating the hummus in the dining hall when I found out from my friend who did a “Real Food” assessment of our school for her thesis that its ingredients include a ton of weird additives and modified food starches–blech!)

If you haven’t tried roasted vegetables (especially squash, sweet potatoes, and potatoes) with hummus, you’re seriously missing out. It’s one of those food combinations that I wouldn’t mind living off of. I just love the contrast of the warm, chewy veggies and the cool, creamy hummus. Broccoli and cauliflower also rock with hummus because the florets soak it all up!

The last delicious bite.

23 responses to “Sick Days

  1. I want a magic bullet sososomuch! Maybe I'll get one as a christmas present to myself, I just love the infomercial.

  2. I hope you are feeling better!I have yet to try roasted veggies with hummus – I'll have to get on that!

  3. Dairy Free Betty

    I love roasted veg with hummus too!! I am also loving roasted veg with tahini too!! :) YUM!!!

  4. Sorry you're sick, but it sounds like you've got it under control. Minced garlic and hot ginger tea are my favorite sicky remedies too! And nothing beats Amy's no-chicken noodles when you're sick. I must try the hummus/roasted veggie combo.

  5. That looks great! Keep eating well and drinking that juice, you'll feel better in no time.

  6. I'm a true believer in garlic, lemon, and garlic! Feel better soon!

  7. Feel better!Beautiful photos!New SAHALE SNACKS giveaway, music, food + fitness – http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/Happy TUESDAY!Katie

  8. The Shenandoah Vegan

    Your pics are even better when you're sick! (But do feel better soon)

  9. Hope you feel better soon :)

  10. Garlic and ginger my two favorites spices!!!! Love them. I hope you feel better soon :)

  11. I hope you feel better soon! It's no fun to be sick :(Roasted squash and hummus together are SO good. I actually made a sandwich the other day with leftover butternut squash, hummus, and some other veggies. It was awesome!

  12. The Ordinary Vegetarian

    I've never thought to put hummus on roasted veggies (only to blend then into the hummus, like butternut hummus) this sounds most excellent. I looove that shot of the ginger!

  13. River - The Crafty Kook

    Aww, poor sick Austen lover! I hope that all those veggies and beverages have helped and that you're feeling better today. *healthy vibes*

  14. i definitely need to try roasted squash with hummus, i love both, so its a great idea to put them together =)

  15. Hummus on sweet potatoes sounds amazing, I will certainly try that next time I make a batch of hummus. I just got over being sick too, I hope you feel better soon. As my mom loves to quote, "People do not die of little trifling colds!"

  16. Roasted veggies and hummus sounds so wonderful. Take care of yourself and feel better soon!

  17. I definitely splurged on the occasional overpriced salad when I had to eat in the dining hall. I considered it an investment in my health to prevent scurvy!

  18. Oh my word!!! Everything looks so incredibly appetizing in this post. On top of that – I love the greens BURSTING with color :D

  19. Melisser; the Urban Housewife

    Oh man, feel better!

  20. Hope you're feeling better :) All the food looks helpful and delicious, so hope it's doing the trick!

  21. The Shenandoah Vegan

    Are you okay? Hope you're just busy and not still sick.

  22. I hope you are feeling better! Must be all that fresh ginger tea!

  23. So sorry you're feeling ill… Have you tried sage tea for your sore throat? You can gargle with it or drink it. Just make it like ordinary tea… I suppose you're taking zinc?I hadn't thought of hummus with roasted vegetables, so that's what I'll have with them next time!Have a Happy Christmas and get well soon!

Leave a Reply

