Tough Times

Hi, guys. I know I’ve been gone for a little while, and sadly, it’s gonna be a little bit longer. I just finished school (and turned in the bound copy of my thesis!), but two days later my hard drive crashed. It’s my brand new MacBook Pro, and I’m pretty devastated. The only back-up I have is my old MacBook that I switched from in August (so I’m still losing 4 months of stuff), but it’s at Pomona, and I won’t be back there until mid-January! :(

Hopefully, I’ll get a new computer soon (I’m not sure if Mac will even do that for me–I have a feeling they’ll screw me over), and I’ll try to catch up on blogging then (although I won’t be able to edit my photos without the Aperture software that’s on my old Mac).

I’m currently on the East coast for the holidays, still recovering from my sickness of a week ago. I had to take an incomplete in my English class because I was too sick to write the final paper last week too (and I lost some of it in the crash). I’m just having a rough time right now. I guess I should be thankful that my hard drive crashed after I turned my thesis in, and that most of my photos are backed up on Flickr, but I’m still super frustrated.

Sorry for the Debbie Downer post. Happy Holidays, everyone, and I promise I’ll be back as soon as I can to make up for this lame post.

14 responses to “Tough Times

  1. Nora – I'm sooooo sorry! I absolutely know what you're going through. My MacBook hard drive crapped out last month, and I was beside myself. Nothing was backed up except for the photos. I was mourning for weeks. I felt insecure and didn't even want to start new bookmarks. I felt like a room of my house had been burned down.Yes, be soooo thankful you turned in your thesis. You'll finish your English paper. You'll recover, but it's a blow, I know. *big hugs*Even now I'm not backing up religiously but I am syching with an external HD. It's not easy, but I don't want to go through that again. Word from the Mac guy: hard drives fail. Thanks f*cker. (You can quote me)

  2. Aw, no! What a terrible series of events. :( Congrats on turning in your thesis though! At least there's that!As someone who's worked in an Apple-authorized reseller/repair shop (…yeah, my uncle owns it), I can tell you that an external HD + Time Machine = your best friend. Obviously it's a little late now, but seriously… I can't tell you how many times someone would come into our store in a panic because her hard drive had crashed and her dissertation/year's worth of schoolwork/work of literary genius hadn't been backed up. Yikes.If you can, you should definitely try to find an Apple-authorized reseller place rather than going to an Apple store to get your HD replaced. Apple-authorized shops are allowed to work on Macs without voiding the warranty, and they do all the communication with Apple itself, saving you that headache. Plus they're usually local businesses with friendly, knowledgeable staff who actually *want* to help you… at least, that's what it's like at my uncle's store. :) He offers a data recovery service that's successful about 95% of the time, even when people at the Apple store are like, "Oh, no, your data is totally gone. Sorry!"…anyway, sorry for all the Appletalk. Hope you (and your Mac!) feel better soon!

  3. Oh no! I'm so sorry. My hard drive crashed last year and I didn't have anything backed up. Fortunately, it was in between assignments, my music library was mostly on my ipod (and I don't listen to half of it anyway), and I am not at all sentimental about photos. It was still annoying and stressful and so, I'd imagine much worse if there were valuable things. Good luck getting it fixed.

  4. That's so devastating– at very least you turned in your thesis before you lost everything! I hope the people at Mac will actually help you out. Y'know, Christmas spirit and all. Have a good holiday regardless! <3

  5. ugh, ROUGH. Been there. Just take a break, do what you need to do, and you'll get back as much as you can. Good luck sweetie. And Merry Christmas!

  6. Big hugs! Sorry to hear about your rough times, but now you get to take a little break to breathe. Use this time to take care of yourself!

  7. The Voracious Vegan

    OH NO! I am so sorry that you have been having some rough times lately. It seems like a whole bunch of yuckiness just hit all at once – what bad luck! I hope things smooth out for you soon. :-)

  8. Sorry to hear about you troubles. Take a nice relaxing break over Christmas and remember "this to shall pass"Merry Christmas!

  9. No More Sad Geraniums

    hmm hopefully you'll be in luck if the Mac was new…it is surprising what a warranty can cover. I've never had a problem with the harddrive, though my logic board did stop working once…Just be happy that the thesis was turned in! After all, when it rains it pours, so hopefully things will start to look up now.

  10. Elizabeth Jarrard

    oh i'm so sorry! that's awful!i hope you have a very joyful, relaxing, rest-full christmas!!!

  11. So sorry to hear about your computer and that you weren't well! As you said, at least you saved the thesis and some photos. . . now that you're on holiday, try to just enjoy and don't think about "practical" matters for a few days–hope you have a wonderful holiday anyway, and spend lots of quality time with family and friends!

  12. I love your blog and want to wish you good luck with all that! I hope everything goes better for you. Happy holidays. <3

  13. I am really sorry, Nora. Hang in there :)Angd congrats on the thesis. That is awesome!

  14. Nora, what a terrible thing to happen! You really didn't need that on top of being ill, did you… I'm glad your thesis is in and I hope you'll be able to get the computer fixed under warranty. I'm a bit paranoid about stuff crashing these days, so I try to backup and then worry about the pen drive coincidentally crashing at the same time as the hard drive!

Leave a Reply

