Kabocha Is Taking Over My Life

…And that’s totally okay by me.

If you made the Kabocha Soup from my last post, you probably have half a squash or so left over. Or maybe you don’t–but don’t let that deter you from making the dish I’m about to describe!

Maple-Cinnamon Squash Ringlets
(Scaled down from the Candle Café Cookbook recipe)

1/2 kabocha squash
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
Pinch crushed pepper
Pinch sea salt

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

With a sharp paring or vegetable knife, carefully cut the squash into 1-inch circles, then halve into semi-circles Lay them side by side on baking sheet. Whisk the olive oil, maple syrup, cinnamon, pepper and salt together in a small bowl. Brush the oil over the squash rings and bake for 20-25 minutes, until the squash is just tender.

I served my squash ringlets with…no, that’s not hummus! (Though I do love to eat roasted squash with hummus…) It’s Swell Vegan’s Vanilla Lemon Pine Nut Cream! I don’t know what made me think of this luscious raw cream as an accompaniment to my squash, but I’m glad I did! Together, they made for a perfect treat. The only change I might make is to slightly lessen the amount of agave in the pine nut cream because I found it a tad sweet. It’s really lovely though – even made with vanilla extract instead of fresh beans, and omitting the acidophilus. (Because, really, who has acidophilus in their pantry?)

It really does look like hummus though, doesn’t it?! I swear I’m not tricking you.

9 responses to “Kabocha Is Taking Over My Life

  1. Jessie (Vegan-minded)

    Yum, I love kabocha squash. Your method of roasting it looks delicious!

  2. Kabocha squash just has to be one of the best vegetables ever…it looks great; thanks for the recipe.

  3. Roasted squash and maple syrup are a match made in heaven! I wish I could find kabocha around here :(

  4. Those kabocha moons are just beautiful! Squash is so satisfying this time of year. Thanks for the heads up about pine nut cream–it sounds like an awesome lunch dip/spread.

  5. looks good..Cookbook giveaway on my blog!Debra @ Vegan Family Style

  6. Too sad that kind of squash isn't available over here! But any kind of roasted swash is delicious, if you ask me.

  7. Yum! Kabocha could take over my life too and I'd be cool with that. Do you eat the skin? I'm creeped out by winter squash skin (and eggplant skin) … but does it get soft enough to eat?

  8. Glad to hear that isn't hummus! I bet that rich, sweet cream went beautifully with those squash ringlets!

  9. The Voracious Vegan

    Those photos are so beautiful. I've never had kabocha before but you've definitely convinced me that I need to as soon as possible. Yum!

Leave a Reply

