Bean and Corn Tortilla Lasagna

There’s been some Mexi-love going down in my house lately, first in the form of the Bean and Corn Tortilla Lasagna with Avocado from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan.

This is another recipe I’ve wanted to make as long as I can remember, so I’m glad I finally got around to it. Alternating layers of spicy beans and tomatoes, avocado, corn tortillas, and Daiya cheese make this dish a veritable fiesta!

Cooked avocado is different, but I’m always pleasantly surprised by how good it is.

My dad commented on how light and fresh it was, especially considering that lasagna is usually pretty heavy. I think that lightness is attributable not only to the fact that this lasagna is vegan and loaded with veggies, but to the lime (squeezed on between layers and on top) and cilantro.

More lime please!

We still had a lot of Daiya hanging around the next day, so nachos it was! These were even better than my Teese-y nachos from over the summer! Actually, MUCH better.

The great thing about living in Arizona is that you can eat al fresco in the middle of the winter:

TJ’s Reduced Guilt Tortilla Chips, Refried Black Beans (I made my own using the recipe in Yellow Rose Recipes!), Cheddar and Italian Daiya “cheese,” guacamole (also made from scratch, but just off the top of my head), and lotsa salsa. My dad and I devoured this lunch.

On an entirely different note, I’m running my 2nd half marathon tomorrow morning: the P.F. Chang’s Arizona Rock ‘n’ Roll 1/2.

I got 2:10:47 in my first half last September, so I’m going for under 2:00 this time. Wish me luck! I’m gonna get started on my carbo-loading dinner from the Vegan Yum Yum cookbook!

12 responses to “Bean and Corn Tortilla Lasagna

  1. Fayinagirl (means Free One)

    That looks so yummy!Every time I come to your blog, I smile. I'm an English major and a vegan forever. =) Best of luck on your half marathon!

  2. This looks delicious! I love the idea of Mexican lasagna, and still waiting for Daiya to show up on grocery shelves here. Sounds wonderful with this dish. Good luck with the half marathon!

  3. Cooking With Dia

    The "cheese" looks great. I'm constantly obsessing on how to make the perfect vegan cheese.

  4. The Voracious Vegan

    I'm totally going to make that awesome looking lasagna, it sounds absolutely incredible. Wish I had some Daiya to put on it!Good luck on your marathon, have fun!

  5. Yum! Mexi-lasagna sounds fantastic. Good luck in the race!

  6. good luck on the 1/2!!! All your food looks INSANELY good.. I have a soft spot for guac and salsa!!

  7. Daaang, I really need to get me some Daiya! That looks sososo delicious. And I've never had cooked avocado! …actually, I don't think I've ever even considered doing so. Hmm.Best of luck on your half! :)

  8. I've been meaning to try that recipe too. I think I am going to now that I see how good yours is! Good luck at your marathon!

  9. Interesting take on lasagna! I've made burgers w/ cooked avocado (ie, pureed in the mixture before cooking), but never big chunks like these. But anything Dreena does is good by me :) Good luck on the marathon!

  10. Crazy that you're eating outside. It's snowing here! Enjoy your half marathon!

  11. Oh yum! I rarely cook Mexican food for myself, but this sounds fantastic- And definitely a welcome change of pace from my usual sort of dinner.

  12. I always assumed that you couldn't cook avocado because I don't know any recipes that call for it. I am glad you can! And in such a delicious recipe…

Leave a Reply

