Cookies for Breakfast

Well, not just cookies (though i don’t have a problem with that either). I’m talking about incorporating cookies into an otherwise balanced breakfast!

I had some Liz Lovely Gluten-Free Ginger Molasses Cookies from my package swap with Lindsay at Cooking for a Vegan Lover, and decided that their best use would be to add a little sweetness to my mornings.

I give you: Sweet Potato Smoothie with Ginger Cookie Crumbles!

I just blended up a frozen banana, sweet potato purée, soy milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, a dollop of maple syrup, and some ice cubes, then crumbled half a cookie on top (these are BIG cookies).

I liked the sweet potato/ginger/molasses combination, so I stuck with the same theme for a bowl of oat bran the next day.

Sweet Potato Oat Bran with Ginger Cookie Crumbles!

What a carb fest. In a good way.

What random toppings to you all use for smoothies, oats, and/or soy yogurt? I still have to try the ice cream-topped oat bran that was floating around the blog world a few months ago…

8 responses to “Cookies for Breakfast

  1. OMG those cookies and smoothie looks so good! YUM :)

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)

    Wow that looks amazing and I have seen those Liz cookies but was too cheap$ to buy them, so I created my own raw vegan ginger bread ball/cookie right before XMAS. The food looks delish!

  3. yummie :D

  4. That looks great, but not sure I could handle so much sweetness in the morning -maybe an afternoon snack :)

  5. That looks SO GOOD! Unfortunately I have a very sweet tooth and would just scarfle this down. You're so lovely and slim, you can eat what you want! (I used to be like that when I was your age….)

  6. I put mixed dried fruit on EVERYTHING. I can't get enough of it! If you pre-make a fruit salad as well, the dried fruit gets all plump from the moisture and it's amazing. If I could put dried fruit on soup, I would!

  7. I'm way behind the smoothie train on this one–I never do add toppings like these to my smoothies! I tend to keep my smoothies restricted to fruits, veg, maybe some protein powder, nuts/seeds and liquid, but no grain products. But this does look yummy!

  8. The Shenandoah Vegan

    That really looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

