Dorm Room Dinners: Raw Avocado Veggie Wrap

Hi, guys! Sorry I’ve been absent so long. I’ve just been eating boring dining hall food (thank God I’m graduating in…nine weeks!), and I didn’t want to bore you. But I think my lunch/dinner today were interesting enough that there shouldn’t be an upheaval of the blogging masses when I publish this post. :)

I’ve been eating a lot of raw food the past few days, which basically equates to green smoothies in my Magic Bullet blender and giant salads for lunch and dinner. Today, however, I felt like having something a little more interesting. To this end, I grabbed some veggies from the dining hall, and combined with a few ingredients from my own stores and a little creativity, I had me some delicious raw wraps!

Basically, I mashed half an avocado with some chopped up cherry tomatoes, a clove of minced garlic, some sea salt, and a couple tablespoons of nutritional yeast. Then I just julienned some jicama, carrots, and cucumbers–and lightly steamed some broccoli in my microwave–and laid them all on some gorgeous collard leaves. I topped ’em with the “guacanoochy” and called it a burrito!

I ended up with two of these wraps, but only had time to eat one before my 1:15 class, so I had the other one for dinner (and I added some cubed TJ’s baked tofu to that one).

I’m not gonna lie; I’m pretty proud of myself for making this in my dorm room using all dining hall ingredients except collard greens, avocado, and nooch. Still…get me out of here, into my own kitchen, and off of this godforsaken meal plan!!!

24 responses to “Dorm Room Dinners: Raw Avocado Veggie Wrap

  1. that looks yummy!

  2. Ooh, it’s so pretty!

  3. this looks so delicious, and so cool that you made that in your dorm! last night i was talking with my twin sister about food in college, considering we both will be going away to different school this fall…and the school’s dinning hall did not look very good at all! but the school i am going to thankgoodness there is a WF like 5 min. drive away!

    xx
    Eliza

  4. Ah, yes, I remember meal plans. ;) But it looks like you’re doing as well as anyone can in the dorm! I’d be happy to eat that wrap in my kitchen as well–yum!

  5. Looks beautiful. In college I only ate pizza and diet soda. Needless to say, I was rather mental.

  6. I’m even more impressed that your dining hall HAS fresh vegetables. I only had a meal plan my first semester of college. It was so bad that I wouldn’t pay for it anymore.

  7. This looks exactly like the kind of fresh and hearty lunch I love to have! Avocados make everything better, don’t they? Love that you through some garlic and nooch in there, too!

  8. That looks much better than the ramen noodles it seemed like I was eating constantly. An inspiration for all those living in dorms : )

  9. Gotta give you credit girl… that meal looks amazing!! Especially done in your dorm room!! :)

  10. I completely understand your hatred for meal plans! I had to somehow survive for an entire year. It was hell. I loved making simple delicious food in my dorm, and I’d always “borrow” ingredients from the dining halls, even whole quarts of soymilk, hah :)

  11. They look really pretty at least!

  12. Nooch in guacamole… that might be genius! The wraps look delicious – way to maximize your meal plan. Heh heh.

  13. Yum ! looks so good…I have to eat at the cafeteria too :(
    just living off salad

  14. That is very impressive for a dining hall meal. I ate such a shitty diet when I was living on the meal plan, because aside from the salad bar most of the vegan food was fried vegan chicken patties or nuggets, vegan sausages, vegan pizza and veggie burgers. Not great. Of course, I should have made friends with the salad bar and come up with great meals like this one!

  15. I think this may be the best named blog that ever existed..and I wish I’d gone vegan when I was at Uni!!x

  16. Hey, sounds pretty darn good to me, and definitely better than most dorm food in general!

  17. That’s an awesome wrap! I’m gonna try this for my work lunch, sounds really good!

  18. Looks yumms and simple to me! :)

  19. Wow! In a dorm room?! That’s an accomplishment! I remember scheming to steal entire pizzas from the dining hall (before I was vegan, obviously)… it involved tupperware and backpacks. I don’t know if it was worth it, but it was fun. :)

    Congratulations on being so close to graduation!

  20. Mmm I know what I am having for dinner now!

Leave a Reply

