Easter Brunch

So I don’t really celebrate Easter, at least not religiously. My sister and I grew up with both Jewish and Christian holiday traditions. In other words–Christmas, Hanukkah, Passover, Easter–we’ve done (and continue to do) them all! My childhood Easter memories really only consist of my mom and dad hiding baskets of candy for Liv and I; brunch was never part of the deal. But after this morning, I’ve decided that Easter brunch is something I can get behind!

At the early hour of 10:00 am, my friend Steph and I beelined to Silver Lake, LA for an all-you-can-eat vegan brunch at Meet Market.

I think Meet Market has brunch every Saturday and Sunday, so this wasn’t a “special” Easter brunch, but it was fun to view it that way! Their brunch consists of tofu scrambled, breakfast potatoes, tofu bacon, pancakes, and french toast (and coffee and OJ).

I wasn’t really feeling the sweet this morning (or maybe I was just really feeling the savory?), so I just stuck with the first three. I did try a bite of Steph’s pancake and french toast though, so I can vouch for them being pretty good! As you can see, Meet Market goes with tofu over tempeh bacon. As far as I’m concerned, tempeh will always be king in the fakin’ bacon department, but this tofu version was a fun twist. They basically cooked the crap out of some really thinly sliced strips of tofu. The result is super toothsome–let’s just say you burn a few calories cutting up your bacon before you eat it! :)

The tofu scramble was studded with onions and bell peppers and had just the right amount of nooch. I’ll admit, it looked a little bland at first (mine are usually yellower), but it was surprisingly flavorful! Definitely my favorite part of the meal. The potatoes were just your average brunchy hash, but they went well with a little ketchup, and complemented the rest of the meal.

Meet Market wasn’t the best vegan brunch I’ve had to date. That award goes to Junior’s or Sweetpea, but they’re both in Portland, so maybe it’s not fair to compare. Plus, Sweetpea’s brunch included kale and tater tots. Hard to beat. Hard. To. Beat.

Still, I’d go back to Meet Market. I really enjoyed the food, the atmosphere was light and relaxed, and they had fun grocery items, like We Can’t Say It’s Cheese Hickory-Smoked Cheddar-Style Spread, which I picked up a tub of! Review to come! Happy Easter and Passover, guys!

10 responses to “Easter Brunch

  1. You will die and go to heaven when you try that cheese! The Mexi-Style is so good!

  2. You’re so lucky to live near so many veggie restaurants. Happy Easter & Passover!

  3. That is so cool! I used to live next to vegan friendly cafés in AZ and I miss them so. Meet Market sounds like lots of delicious fun.

  4. Your brunch looks fantastic! Happy easter :)

  5. A great tradition for you to keep up! ;) And wow, that tofu looks SUPER dark–I see what you mean about using up calories cutting it!

  6. Yum! I don’t really do Easter either (except I do still get an Easter basket!), but I would totally go out for Easter brunch if I could eat that. The tofu bacon looks yummy, almost like jerky.

  7. Awesome pictures, as always! That bacon does look a bit.. stiff, but everything looks tasty. I’d love to live near more veggie restaurants!! :)

  8. nora, next time you are in my area give me a call! i am always up for vegan food!

    ps your blog is fabulous (although it is such a tease when i’m hungry!)

  9. Saw your profile on another page. Glad I read your informative and well-written blog. Look foraward to following you here. Have a great day! Cheers!

  10. Yum! You’re right, there’s something about Easter that just seems to demand a brunch rather than a lunch. But screw Easter, that scramble is totally calling my name right about now…!

Leave a Reply

