Happy Belated Earth Day!

Challah!

So, my procrastinatory nature won out, and I’m not making my Earth Day post until, well, now. Earth Day is very special to me not only for the reason it’s special to all of you, but also because it’s my veganversary–my 2-year veganversary to be exact! Yes, April 22nd, 2008, I ditched dead animals, dairy, and eggs (man, I wish eggs started with a “d”) for good, and I’ve never looked back except to turn and laugh at the disgusting omnivorous world I left behind.

Of course, being an Environmental Analysis major (on the verge of graduation!) I also love Earth Day for its own wonderful sake, and look forward to Pomona’s annual Organic Dinner, put on by students. The food is catered by Pitzer College’s student-run café, The Shakedown, and supplemented by produce from Pomona’s organic farm. Oh, and there’s also organic dates donated by a nearby California date farm!

This was the second year I’ve helped out with the 200-person dinner (setting up, serving, baking, etc.), and it’s been a blast both times. After much deliberation, Steph and I decided to bake the Chocolate Peanut Butter Pillows and Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodles from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, and my old standby chocolate chippers–the Homestyle Chocolate Chip Cookies from Vive Le Vegan!

Let me tell you, no matter how kick-ass of a baker you are, it is impossible–impossible, I say!–to make 400 plus cookies in under six hours if you only have one oven. Yes, you heard me right. Steph and I slaved over a hot oven from 9:00 pm to 3:30 am in order to bring Pomona students these stacks of organic vegan goodness!

It’s a good thing we did too, because we kind of ran out of food midway through the dinner (and to be honest the food we had this year was NOT as good as last year’s–overly salted teriyaki tofu in lieu of delicious tempeh curry). So, yeah, these cookies were kind of the saving grace of the dinner; and, if I don’t say so myself, they were pretty darn delicious and gorgeous to boot!

Be back soon with the rest of Nicole and I’s time in LA! :) This was just a scheduled interruption!

12 responses to “Happy Belated Earth Day!

  1. Mmm… Those look good! I have that recipe book, but I haven’t baked anything out of it yet! That is about to change!
    Sorry your meal was a disappointment… Just as well you had those cookies!

  2. i have made both the peanut butter pillows and the mexican hot chocolate snickerdoodles and have had rave reviews! i’m so happy your cookies were there to invade the cookie jar… err… to save the day, though i marvel at how you were able to make all of them with only 1 one. happy veganversary and to many, many more :)!

    have a lovely day! xox

  3. what an amazing dinner concept and those cookies look so gorgeous and delicious!! i love that pomona has its own organic garden, and I just love dates fresh from california. I buy mine from “Brown Date Garden” and they are absolutely heavenly! their fresh raisins are also killer.

    ps i love your new yoga-centric picture nora!

  4. 400 cookies in 6 hours? That’s insane! You totally deserve an award for that.

  5. I thought the Chocolate Chippers were gorgeous and then I scrolled down and saw the Snickerdoodles! Wow! Too beautiful!

  6. I can’t decide which cookie I would want more! They both look so delicious. Kudos to you for baking so many

  7. oh my goodness, these cookie photos just killed me. i’m always craving cookies but this just increased that tenfold.

  8. Whoa! Cookies on deck! I love it! Great blog!

  9. Congrats on your veganversary! I just recently got the vegan cookie book and everything looks so good I don’t know which one to try first!

Leave a Reply

