Breakfast at Babycakes

Recipe for a good morning downtown:

Step outside into the crisp morning air, surprisingly fresh for LA.

Stumble into Spring for Coffee for soy cappuccinos. Don’t forget to dust them with cinnamon.

Oh, hey, you’re just two blocks from Babycakes NYC! What up, wheat-free, vegan pastries? All hail, coconut oil!

Sample each and every kind of gluten-free teacake sitting on the counter. That includes banana bread, pumpkin bread, cornbread, and cranberry-apple toastie, by the way.

If you’re feeling feisty, maybe have more than one of each. We won’t tell.

Order a spelt biscuit, flaky and “buttery,” unnamed jam and vanilla sauce oozing from its center.

Enjoy every last bite.

Leftover jam, we’ll let slide–but there better not be any crumbs.

12 responses to “Breakfast at Babycakes

  1. Such a lovely post! I must go to baby cakes very soon, that looks so delicious and your photos are stunning! i love how this post was written!

    xx
    eliza

  2. I licked the jam off the paper when I got one of those delicious biscuits. And I didn’t apologize for it. ;)

  3. Sounds like the perfect morning! The biscuit with jam looks delicious and I love the idea of sprinkling cinnamon on a cup of coffee!

  4. What a delicious morning!! :)

  5. Mmm that looks really good…

  6. Ooooh that does sound like the perfect morning. I love my Babycakes cookbook and I dream about going to a bakery where I can eat everything on the menu. What a treat! Glad you had fun.

  7. Aren’t those biscuits the best?
    Have you tried the doughnuts? They’re great!

    • They were perfection! (Though I would have preferred raspberry jam…)

      I’m really hoping to get to Babycakes one last time before I graduate for a donut! That coconut-butterscotch one they’re always tweeting about is driving me crazy! :)

  8. i love these posts. makes me miss socal so muchhh… can’t wait until i go home and hit me up some scoops. although i will be in ny in the summer i can go to the babycakes there… uh oh, i will need wallet control

  9. Oooh, so jealous we don’t have BabyCakes here! That jam-filled scone, in particular. . . heaven!

  10. Damn, I never got to try their breakfast options!

Leave a Reply

