Sweet Treats

Just a little Friday afternoon pick-me-up!

If you live within a reasonable distance of any vegan donut and milkshake vendors, I highly suggest that you stop reading and promptly head over to such a place. If not, I hope my photos of these Pacific Northwest treats will suffice. :)

Sip. The infamous vegan milkshake cart that beckons weary grocery shoppers on their way in and out of Portland’s People’s Food Co-Op. There’s nothing cuter, really. My sister opted for the classic Cookies & Cream shake…

While I–somewhat predictably–got Chocolate Peanut Butter. Technically, it was chocolate coconut peanut butter because I decided Coconut Bliss ice cream was worth the extra $1.50. There’s something about an overflowing milkshake in a old-school diner glass that really tugs at your heartstrings, isn’t there? Or maybe that’s the peanut butter…

In my humble opinion, shakes > donuts, but that doesn’t mean I wasn’t a veritable kid in a candy shop when I stepped into Seattle’s Mighty-O Donuts. Actually, I was a 22-year-old in a donut shop; but my eyes lit up the same way, I swear. I think my sister could attest to the truth of that statement.

Not only is that a French Toast donut; it’s an organic French Toast donut that was thoroughly enjoyed alongside a wonderful soy latté on a cloudy Seattle day.

Chomp. Chomp. Chomp.

20 responses to “Sweet Treats

  1. I am so jealous. I would have killed for one of those milkshakes today, it was SO hot out. We don’t have anywhere to get any vegan goodies like that here :(

  2. Ooooohhhhhh, I love this post!! Everything about it – your writing, the items which you describe, your pictures, and the treats in your pictures! Yay! Sadly, no vegan donut joint is near me. But I think I can make the hitting-up-a-vegan-milkshake-joint thing happen…

  3. Drooooooool…

  4. Drool, indeed! :) I’m moving somewhere solely based on the availability of their vegan treats. Luckily, I married someone who is with me on that dream.

  5. I am jealous of your life. The extent of the vegan establishments that I have near me is a vegetarian co-op that sells fish oil. Also my kitchen.

    Looks delicious!

  6. Yum! Those shakes look so amazing. Jealous! :)

  7. Oh my gosh! It all looks soooo good!

  8. Overflowing vegan milkshakes and donuts sounds like heaven!

  9. oh, you were here in Portland? (or was this not even very recent?) hope you had a lovely time!

  10. Oohhh boy…I think I just passed out there. This post is INTENSE. I think I would live at that shop, it all looks adorable and perfect. And a french toast donut? Seriously? That is my dream come true.

  11. Oh yum, I’m so jealous!

  12. I haven’t had a donut in ages! That photo is making my teeth ache… so sugary, yet so tempting!

  13. drool. Your photos are soooo beautiful!! I really hope you will submit this and more to my new “vegan finds” site:
    http://www.findingvegan.com

    Kathy

  14. Mmmm…everything looks delicious! And to top it off, your photos are amazing! Love your blog. Can’t wait to read more. :)

  15. I was an English major too + love Mighty O!

    Aah, it’s time to add Pride and Vegudice to my blogroll… Hope you enjoyed your visit to Seattle! It’s a great destination for us vegetarians/ vegans.

    Molly

  16. did you mean “chomp chomp chomp?” because it probably sounded more like “nom nom nom”… on the flip side, i just added to my to-do list: make a reddit account for the sole reason of posting this blog. its so cool! i admire you a lot and would love to hear where you get all these ideas for cooking cool new things.

Leave a Reply

