Pesto White Bean Bowl

I’ve only recently acquired Jae Steele’s two cookbooks, Get It Ripe and Ripe From Around Here. Really, I shouldn’t even call them cookbooks; they’re more like holistic vegan lifestyle books, replete with nutritional information, tips for digestion and detoxification, the ins and outs of the organic and local food movements, and even recipes for make-at-home natural cleaning products! Sometimes it bothers me when the first half of a cookbook is wasted on something other than recipes, but with Jae’s books, I don’t mind. Everything she has to say is genuinely interesting, and I’m better off having read it.

I’m a pretty big fan of bowl-type meals (Anyone remember the Love Bowl?!), consisting of grains, veggies, protein, and a tasty sauce; so I was immediately drawn to the Pesto White Bean Bowl in her first book, Get It Ripe.

Fresh baby bok choy is laid atop a bed of fluffy quinoa, then topped with white beans (I used a mixture of navy and cannellini beans) combined with delicious pesto. Finally, the whole bowl is drizzled with olive oil.  I used Jae’s Cilantro Pesto from the same book; but really, you could use whatever pesto’s sitting in your fridge. For the olive oil, I used some fancy Basil Olive Oil I just bought from Outrageous Olive Oils, here in Scottsdale, AZ. Since I made cilantro pesto, I had to find a way to get some basil in there somehow!

As I knew it would be, this bowl was a slam dunk. My dad and I both loved it. Fresh, simple, and wholesome food at its finest. Given that the one other recipe I’ve made from Get It RipePerfect Peanut Sauce – was, in fact, perfect, I’d say Jae Steele is two for two. I’ll be getting more ripe very soon. :)

13 responses to “Pesto White Bean Bowl

  1. This looks great. It is kind of similar to my summer chili recipe. :)

  2. Basil olive oil?! I need to get my hands on some of that. I am not a cilantro fan, but I would totally eat that meal if it had regular pesto.

  3. *Perfect* Peanut Sauce?! That’s quite the claim! I’m intrigued!

    • I know! I made it just to dare her to see if she was right! Most peanut sauces I’ve made were just blended, but this one was cooked stove-top and was kind of chunky. It also had onions and curry powder, which isn’t really the norm for other peanut sauces I’ve made…

  4. That looks awesome! I, too, am a huge fan of bowls. It also looks light AND filling.

  5. I’ve read other great reviews on Jae’s books; I’ve really got to buy them. I like the “perfect” peanut sauce idea. Yummy!

  6. Looks delicious! I’ll be checkin’ this out for sure. And peanut sauce?! OMG! I could drink that stuff! I’ll definitely be makin’ some of that with my vegetarian pad thai noodles!

  7. No recipe :(?

  8. That looks delicious, and I even have that book so I should totally make it!

  9. Your bowl looks wonderful. I don’t think there’s anything I love more than white beans to round out a meal!

  10. Oh, and you’ve now convinced me to go buy that book, so thank you!

  11. Nora, you always make the best food!! I can’t wait to visit. Woo!

Leave a Reply

