Happy Halloween, Babycakes

I can’t decide which is scarier: Halloween, or how long it’s been since I last posted.

For once, I have a valid excuse though. I’ve only just returned from a two-week long adventure (and I mean adventure) in India – the first trip organized through the cooperation of VegNews and VegVoyages!

Of course, I have an epic Indian food post in the works, but in the meantime, allow me to show you how magical gluten-free vegan bakeries celebrate everyone’s second favorite autumnal holiday. (We’re all on the same page about Thanksgiving, right?!)

Like most of you, I celebrated “All-Hallows-Even” with my friends on Saturday night; I mean, Sunday’s not exactly the most convenient night to have a ghoulishly good time, is it?

Come the evening of true Halloween, I found myself facing a lonely six-hour drive back to Tempe (did I mention that my friends live in LA?). Being the strict observer of holidays that I am, this plan posed a bit of a problem. I wasn’t about to let a long drive get between me and a good time.

So, I did what any self-respecting, gluten-hesitant vegan would do. Donning my baby-pink piggie hat, I headed over to Babycakes NYC in downtown LA to stock up on sugary treats for the road.

A chocolate “cake ball” here…

A powdered blueberry donut there…

And a few spookies (spooky cookies, of course!) to bring home to share…

By now, you probably have an image in your head of me, sitting in my car, wearing a pig hat, and stuffing my face with a dinner’s worth of gluten-free baked goods. That is actually a pretty accurate description of how I spent my 385-mile-long Halloween. I assure you, the irony of the situation was not lost on me.

Oink oink oink.

12 responses to “Happy Halloween, Babycakes

  1. Oh, those gluten free vegan donuts just look fantastic. Worth driving all those miles, just to be able to pig out on them! Add a cup of joe, and I’d be in heaven!

  2. India, thats amazing! I can’t wait for that post! I’d love to get the chance to visit this bakery some day. I see it on blogs all the time and it always looks stunning.

  3. If it’s any consolation, I didn’t do anything exciting on Halloween either. I wrote a paper all day. At least you had some yummy baked goods! I want to try one of those cake balls. I wish there was a Babycakes here (or maybe it’s better that there isn’t one, cause I’d probably go there way too often).

  4. I’ve missed your posts, but I can’t wait to read about India! And I’m jealous of all these amazing vegan treats. You did far better than I, set free in a vegan bakery!

  5. Wow! These look awesome. I wish I had some right now!

  6. I am so jealous of your trip to India. I am sure it was wonderful and I can’t wait to hear about it!

    I just moved to LA and can’t wait to try the babycakes downtown..hope it satisfies as much as the ny outpost! It definitely looks like it!

  7. Hee. Oink indeed!

    Can’t wait to hear about your India adventure… I *suppose* that justifies your blog absence! :P

  8. I’m glad you’re back!

  9. Pigs or not, I think you did well for yourself! Did you like the stuff from Babycakes?

    xo
    kittee

    • Yes! It was my 3rd or 4th time there and it’s definitely my favorite vegan baked good provider, GF or not!
      I love the light, sweet, buttery flavor that the coconut oil gives to everything, and they’ve really mastered moistness/crumb/rise, i.e. all the things GF gets a bad rap for. I know you’re totally GF…what do you think of Babycakes?!

  10. I just discovered your blog and I love it! But if Kittee knew about it, I guess it’s really awesome :D

Leave a Reply

